Installation of McGill Principals Virtual Exhibit
Go to Site Map
Exhibit Home The Installation Ceremony Past Installations The Gallery: Papers of Governance For Researchers Credits
You are here > Home > Past Installations : Principal David Lloyd Johnston, 1979-1994
Principal George Jehoshaphat Mountain

Principals Appointed by Resolution

Principal Arthur Eustace Morgan

Principal Lewis Williams Douglas

Principal Frank Cyril James

Principal Harold Rocke Robertson

Principal Robert Edward Bell

Principal David Lloyd Johnston

Principal Bernard Shapiro

Principal David Lloyd Johnston,

David Johnstonís Installation was held at the Theatre Maisonneuve, Place des Arts, on February 8, 1979. It was the first installation held off campus as a separate ceremony. There were approximately 1,000 invited guests, including Mayor Jean Drapeau among the 200 dignitaries on stage, and representatives of 50 North American universities. The Montreal Gazette ran a story on the installation ceremony on February 9 under the title "Pomp reigns at installation of principal."

Click image to enlarge.
Please note the presence of the 1852 Charter and Seal on stage in the top row photographs.

Principal Johnston's Installation Ceremony, 1980. MUA RG 4, c.630. Principal Johnston's Installation Ceremony, 1980. MUA PR032046.
Principal Jonhston, 1981. MUA PR031398. Principal Johnston's Installation Program, 1980. MUA RG 4, c. 630.
Previous, Principal Bell Top Next, Principal Shapiro

HOME |  The Installation Ceremony |  Past Installations |  The Gallery: Papers of Governance | 
For Researchers |  Credits |  Site Map
Back to Top Contact the Web Manager
This Virtual Exhibit is maintained by the McGill University Archives | McGill University , © 2003