The first Canadian institution to provide library training, McGill offered summer courses from 1904 to 1927. The McGill Library School was formed in 1927 with a one-year program leading to a diploma. After 1930, the School required entering students to hold a B.A. or B.Sc. and awarded the degree of Bachelor of Library Science (B.L.S.). In 1931, the School became the first in Canada to be accredited by the American Library Association. Until 1949 the University Librarians served as Directors; after that date the School had its own full-time director. The curriculum evolved by 1965 into a two-year program leading to a Master's in Library Science (M.L.S.) degree and reflecting this, the School changed its name to the Graduate School of Library Science.
HEADS OF LIBRARY SCIENCE
1904-1919 Charles H. Gould
1920-1949 Gerhard Lomer
1949-1966 Vernon Ross
1966-1970 Virginia E. Murray
1970-1972 Violet Coughlin
1972-1976 Effie C. Astbury
1976-1981 Vivian S. Sessions
1981-1984 Hans Moller
1984- Helen Howard
ADMINISTRATIVE RECORDS, 1921-1980
Minutes, 1964-1968, 1970-1972, 1 cm (c.5)
The minutes document major activities of the School, and include agenda 1970-1976.
Annual Reports, 1921, 1927-1980, 50 cm (c.1, c.39)
Reports to the Principal on the activities of the School.
Director's Correspondence, 1927-1978, 2 m (c.1-c.5, c.40-c.42)
Director's correspondence with McGill departments, individuals, institutions in Canada and the United States.
Accreditation, 1951-1953, 1955-1957, 1959, 1961-1968, 5 cm (c.1)
The School was first accredited in 1931 by the American Library Association. There are reports and correspondence with the American Library Association concerning periodical review and accreditation of the school.
Financial Records, 1930-1952, 1957-1965, 1980, 5 cm (c.5) RESTRICTED
Contains quarterly estimates, 1961-1964; fees for staff and lecturers, 1957-1963, 1965; expenses for trips, 1930-1952 and petty cash account, 1980.
Publicity Records, 1927-1961, 6 cm (c.6)
Correspondence and publications dealing with Library School activities.
TEACHING RECORDS, 1904-1981
Course Records, 1927-1944, 1946, 1951-1971, 1974-1975, 25 cm (c.7, c.9)
Contains course outlines and booklists, for term and extension courses.
Examination Questions, 1927-1976, 35 cm (c.7,c.8,c.36)
Examination question papers for each course given.
Summer Session, 1904, 1906-1934, 1941, 1943, 1981, 10 cm (c.9, c.10)
Contains minutes of the Library Summer Sessions Committee, 1904, and representative samples of programme outlines, enquiries, examination papers.
Trips, 1928-1963, 1971-1975, 25 cm (c.10.)
Itineraries, correspondence, reports and handouts of student tours and trips.
STUDENT RECORDS, 1927-1980
Records of Admission, 1951, 1958, 1971, 2 cm (c.10) RESTRICTED
These are records of the Admissions Committee containing applications, transcripts, etc., and commentary on meetings of the committee.
Student Files-Graduates, 1928-1977, 8 m (c.11-c.33, c.37, c.38) RESTRICTED
Student records contain correspondence, transcripts and marks of each person who graduated. Alphabetically arranged.
Student Files-Non Graduates, 1928-1976, 75 cm (c.33-c.35) RESTRICTED
Student records of those individuals who withdrew from the programmes before completion. These contain correspondence, transcripts and marks. Alphabetically arranged.
Attendance Register, 1951-1952, 1 cm (c.10) RESTRICTED
Lists of students absent and present.
Class Records, 1927-1980, 35 cm (c.6, c.7, c.10, c.35)
These concern class reunions and class correspondence, 1927-1980
Graduates Bulletin, 1952-1960, 2 cm (Printed Collection)
Provides news of graduates.
McGill Library School Visits, 1928-1964, 2 vols, 5 cm (Printed Collection)
Provides the itineraries of School visits to libraries outside Montreal.
Self Study Report, 1974, 2 cm (Printed Collection)
Describes the School, its curriculum, faculty and students.
Announcements, 1913-1970, 3 cm (Printed Collection)
Describes the courses offered by the School
Occasional Papers, 1972-1977, 2 cm (Printed Collection)
Various studies on library related subjects usually by the School's faculty.