SPECIAL COLLECTION: ARCHITECTURE STUDENTS' SKETCHES, ca 1930-ca 1970
BLACKADER-LAUTERMAN LIBRARY
Originals, ca 1930-ca 1970, ca 425 drawings
Approximately 400 of these drawings are sketches made by students of the School of Architecture during their summer sketching courses in the late 1950s and 1960s; these depict buildings and scenes in Québec and eastern Ontario. The remainder are samples of student designs, including drawings of stained glass, ca 1930-1960, by Herbert Raine, David Moir, H.B. Little, John Schreiber, G.M. Fisk, Charles Aspler, and others.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: MacDONALD COLLEGE, AGRICULTURE CLASS OF 1911
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Original, 1912-1913, 2 cm (M.G. 4070)
This volume is a circulating letter of the first graduating class
in Agriculture; a class member would write his personal and career news addressed to the class in general and forward the book to the next person to do the same.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: MEDICAL STUDENTS' NOTES, 1857-1878
Robert Bell (1841-1917) received his M.D.,C.M. from McGill in 1878, his brother John Bell in 1866 and David Leslie Philip in 1861. (For Robert Bell, see IV, Medical and Scientific).
OSLER LIBRARY
Originals, 1857-1858, 1864, 1866-1878, 31 vols (Acc. 612)
These notes were taken by the two Bells and Philip of lectures by
John Morley Drake, R.P. Howard, George E. Fenwick, Duncan W. MacCallum, William Osler, Thomas G. Roddick, William Wright and William Fraser. The subjects covered include the practice of medicine, materia medica, surgery, midwifery, obstetrics, physiology and clinical surgery. There is also a clinical thesis, "Pathology and treatment of some forms of partial paralysis," 1864, by William Wood Squire.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: UNDERGRADUATE LITERARY PRIZES, 1977
The Lionel Shapiro Award, a literary prize open to final year arts undergraduates, was awarded in 1977 to Mary Mazgelis of Brockton, Massachusetts, and Robert Rubenstein of Hampstead, Québec, both of whom graduated that year. The Peterson Memorial Prize is a similar award for undergraduate or graduate students. In 1977 it was awarded to Douglas Dolan of Pointe Claire, Québec.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals and Photocopies, 1977, 4 cm (M.G. 3033)
Mazgelis's, Rubenstein's and Dolan's prize-winning stories are included in this archive.
AMOS, PIERRE CHARLES, 1897-1976
In 1915, Pierre Charles Amos interrupted his freshman studies towards a Bachelor of Applied Science degree at McGill to enlist in the Royal Navy. After the war he graduated from McGill with his B. Arch. degree in 1925. Amos was the architect of the naval supply depot in Lasalle and an associate architect for the Laurentien Hotel. He was a member of the executive council of the Royal Architecture Institute and served as the president of the Province of Québec Association of Architects. For many years he was in architectural practice with his father, L.A. Amos, and served as a commander in the Canadian Navy during the Second World War.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, n.d., 1924-1925, 9.5 cm (M.G. 3039)
Amos' papers consist of three student notebooks, including drawings for history of architecture courses taught by Professor Ramsey Traquair, and a chart interpreting cyclones.
BACON, FREDERICK THOMAS HOWARD, 1877-
F.T.H. Bacon was born in Montréal, and graduated in applied science from McGill in 1898.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, 1897-1898, .25 cm (M.G. 4043)
Notes taken by Bacon for Prof. H.T. Bovey's course in hydraulics.
SEE SECTION IX. PROFESSIONS AND TRADES
William Ball was born in North Hatley, Québec and educated at McGill, where he received his B.Sc. in 1930 and Ph.D. in chemistry in 1935. As an undergraduate and graduate student he was very active in sports, and was a member of the ski team from 1926 to 1930.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Carbon Copy, 1963, 1 cm (M.G. 4054)
Carbon copy of Ball's history of the 'Red Birds of St. Sauveur', a ski club formed by McGill students and graduates in 1929.
BOA, HELEN GILMOUR, 1887-ca 1968
Helen Gilmour Boa of St Laurent, Québec, attended Granby High School, and received her diploma from the McGill Normal School in 1906.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, Printed Materials, Photograph (PR 008121), 1903-1906, 2 cm (M.G. 2086)
Included are Boa's photograph 1906, six certificates, including her Normal School diploma, 1903-1906, and a letter offering her a scholarship in the Faculty of Arts from the University Registrar,
1905.
Born in Buckingham, Québec, Wendell Brewer received his secondary education in Cobalt, Ontario. In 1923, he graduated from McGill University with a bachelor's degree in Commerce. As a student he was an active participant in the social and sports life of the university, being president of the Ontario Club, a member of the Epsilon Phi Fraternity, a vice-president of the Commercial Society, an intercollegiate hockey player and a welterweight boxing champion. After leaving McGill, Brewer had a long and varied business career in Cobalt, Sudbury and Timmins, Ontario. He retired in 1970, but pursued a part time sales career and studied at Laurentien University where he obtained a B.A. degree in sociology in 1978.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, 1920-1923, 4 cm (M.G. 4075)
Brewer's papers consist of three McGill pocket diaries for 1920 - 1923, recording his sports activities and social life, particularly theatre outings.
A missionary, Brooks received his B.A. from McGill in 1908.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Transcripts, 1958, 30 pp (New MSS)
Autobiographical essay titled "My Life at Stanstead and McGill, 1902-1910".
BURNHAM, HAROLD BOSTWICK, fl 1892-1934
Harold Burnham of Peterborough, Ontario received his Bachelor of Applied Science degree from McGill University in 1897. While a student at McGill, Burnham was a member of the Junior Rugby team (1894), the Intermediate Football Team (1896) and the Second XV Rugby Club (1897).
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Printed Materials, 1892-1897, 1936, 1 cm (M.G. 3070)
Burnham's student days at McGill are documented by a scrapbook containing clippings and printed photographs on collegial sports activities, mainly rugby football, 1892-1897, some clippings of poetry associated with student life, 1894-1895, 1897 and printed photographs of William Dawson, Peter Redpath, the Redpath Library and the Applied Science Class of 1897. There is also correspondence and a speech arising from a class reunion in 1931.
Walter H. Burritt was born in Upper Canada of Loyalist parents. From 1831 to 1835 he served a medical apprenticeship with Dr. Basil Church of Merrickville, Upper Canada, and attended the College of Physicians and Surgeons, Western District, New York in
1834-1835. His son, Horatio Charles Burritt went to Bishop's College in 1859, but transferred to the Medical Faculty of McGill, where he graduated in 1863 as class valedictorian. He served as a medical officer with the Confederate Army in the American Civil War, and later practiced medicine in Ontario.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, 1834-1835, 1859-1863, 1866, 3 cm (M.G. 2087)
Walter H. Burritt's papers consist of course admission tickets, 1834-1835, and a letter of recommendation, 1835.
Horatio Charles Burritt's papers consist of course admission and matriculation tickets, 1860-1863, three letters of recommendation, 1863, a receipt for student fees, 1863, certificates, 1859-1860, 1863, 1866, and his valedictory address, 1863.
Edith Cannon was born in New York City and earned her B.A. from McGill in 1948. In the summer of 1947 she participated in the first "Beaver Brigade" organized by the Canadian Committee of the World Federation of Democratic Youth, with the assistance of youth organizations and trade unions. The Brigade toured a number of countries in western and eastern Europe, participated in a youth Festival in Prague, and worked on reconstruction projects in Yugoslavia.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, 1947, 3 cm (M.G. 4045)
Papers relating to Edith Cannon's summer with the Beaver Brigade include a diary, postcards, documents, and notes for addresses about her experiences.
After secondary education in Ottawa, Herbert Cole came to McGill where he earned his B.Sc. in 1904 and M.Sc. in 1905. He was a demonstrator in physics from 1905 to 1906, and deeply involved in the work of the Y.M.C.A. Under the aegis of the "Y", he taught science in China until 1923, when he undertook post-graduate work in physics at Columbia. He taught physics at Guilford College, North Carolina, and worked as guidance secretary in the Bronx Y.M.C.A. until 1929 when he was appointed Dean of Students at the University of Redlands in California. After his retirement, Cole worked in relief programmes in adult education, and as the manager of a gold mine.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, Printed Materials and Photocopies, 1902-1903, 1969. 1 cm (M.G. 1027)
Printed and handwritten examination questions in engineering, 1902-1903, and photocopy of an autobiographical note.
COLE, GEORGE PERCY, fl 1888-1905
A native of Montréal, G. Percy Cole received his B.Sc. (1903), in
electrical engineering, and M.Sc (1905) from McGill University. Later, he worked for the Dominion Glass Company in Montréal.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, Photographs, 1903. 1.5 cm (M.G. 3093)
A B.Sc. final year paper, co-authored with Kenneth McCaskill, William Herseman Thorpe and Charles Lech Trimingham titled "Repulsion Motor", 1903.
COTTON, THOMAS FORREST, 1884-1965
T.F. Cotton was born in Cowansville, Québec and received his B.A. in 1905 and his M.D.,C.M. in 1909 from McGill. He was a cardiologist and practiced in England. He had a great devotion to Sir William Osler and secured a place for the Osler Club of London in the new Royal College of Physicians. In his will Cotton endowed the Thomas F. Cotton Professorship in the History of Medicine at McGill.
OSLER LIBRARY
Originals, 1903-1909 (Acc. 431)
This collection primarily contains lecture notes taken by Cotton, 1903-1909, for courses in medicine, political science, history, French literature, English composition and literature. There is also a case book containing electrocardiograms and a volume of ophtalmology lecture notes with the name of George C. Hale on the flyleaf.
DENIS, LEOPOLD GERMAIN, fl 1898-1923
Leopold Denis was born in France and graduated from McGill with a
B.Sc. in Electrical Engineering in 1899. He later became chief engineer of the Quebec-Jacques Cartier Electric Company in Québec City.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, 1898-1923, 10 cm (M.G. 2090)
The Denis papers comprise eight notebooks for engineering and physical science courses, 1898-1899, a few items of personal correspondence, 1913, 1916, certificates, and postcards from the Québec tercentenary, 1908.
DRURY, WALKER HERBERT, fl 1880-1909
Walker Herbert Drury received his M.D.,C.M. from McGill in 1909.
OSLER LIBRARY
Originals, 1906-1908, 88 pp (Acc. 539)
These are bacteriology laboratory notebooks kept by Drury while a student at McGill, 1906-1908.
Born in Danville, Québec, Roland Montague Elliott went from Danville Academy to Macdonald College, where he earned his B.Sc. in Agriculture in 1917. During the First World War he served with the 6th (later 7th) McGill Siege Battery. His sisters Elsie and Gwen operated an antique store in Danville.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, Printed Materials and Photographs, 1909-ca 1956, 10 cm
(M.G. 2091)
R.M. Elliott's papers comprise notebooks for general science and agriculture courses, 1915-1916. His sister Elsie is represented by photographs, ca 1948-1956, and a Macdonald College School for Teachers examination, 1911.
Arthur Erickson was born in Vancouver. His early ambitions to become an artist were encouraged by Lawren Harris of the Group of Seven. During the Second World War he was posted to Calcutta and Kuala Lumpur, and briefly considered a career in external affairs, but the experience of Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesin West turned him finally in the direction of architecture. Erickson graduated from McGill in 1950 and travelled in Europe and the Middle East for three years on a McLennan Scholarship. On his return to Canada he worked for a number of Vancouver architects, and taught design at the Universities of Oregon and British Columbia. Erickson's designs for Simon Fraser University, the University of Lethbridge, pavillons at Expo 67 and Expo 70, as well as private residences and commercial buildings have won him wide recognition and numerous awards.
BLACKADER-LAUTERMAN LIBRARY
Originals, ca 1950, 18 drawings
These Erickson papers comprise drawings for two student projects: an office complex and an arts centre for Vancouver.
John E. Fay received his Law degree from McGill in 1878.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Original, 2 cm (M.G. 4060)
This student notebook on Roman and International Law, 1875-1876, may have belonged to J.E. Fay of Abercorn, Québec.
FEATHERSTON, JOHN HAMILTON, fl 1870-1898
A native of Montréal, John H. Featherston obtained his B.App.Sc. from McGill University in 1893.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals and Photographs, 1890s, 5 items (M.G. 3052)
These papers consist of photographs and programmes of McGill activities during the 1890s and include the invitation of the 1893 graduating class to the opening of the Macdonald Physics Building and a menu for a reunion dinner of the Applied Science class of 1893, 1898.
GOODING, CHARLES E., fl 1881-1884
Charles Gooding came from Barbados and earned his M.D.,C.M. from McGill in 1884.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, 1881-1882, 2 items (M.G. 2001)
Lecture notes taken by Gooding for two courses (chemistry and physiological chemistry) taught by Dr. G.P. Girdwood.
HAFFMANS, HEINRICH J., fl 1940-1944
Heinrich Haffmans earned a B.Sc. from McGill in 1940, and attended courses in the Engineering Faculty until 1945.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Original, 1944, .25 cm (M.G. 3090)
Student assignment "Engineering Reports 136" completed in 1944.
Robert Howard graduated in medicine from McGill in 1874 with a M.D.,C.M. degree.
OSLER LIBRARY
Originals, 1871, 371 pp (Acc. 458)
Lecture notes on diseases of the lungs, heart and kidneys, 1871, taken by Howard at McGill University.
Edward Hurd received his M.D.,C.M. from McGill in 1865.
OSLER LIBRARY
Originals, 1861-1867, n.d. (Acc. 477)
Hurd's papers include student lecture notes, n.d., notebooks, 1867 and McGill College certificates, 1861-1865.
Janet Janes was a student in the history department at McGill University.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Original, 1976, 1 item (M.G. 3013)
Paper entitled "Analysis and Discussion of the Incidence of Death Among the English Population of Montreal from the years 1869-1873", written for a history course in 1976.
Vincent Jolivet was born in Shawinigan, and graduated in Mechanical Engineering from McGill in 1952. After obtaining his M.B.A., 1954 and Doctorate in Finance, 1957 from Harvard, he was appointed assistant Professor of Finance at the University of Washington. In 1966 he left to become Vice President of Rocket Research Corporation, and since 1972 he has worked as a freelance business, financial and economic consultant in Seattle.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Original, 1950, 1 cm (M.G. 4039)
This history of Dawson College from 1945 to 1950 was prepared in collaboration with David H. Kennedy (B.Eng. 1952, M.Eng. 1953, Dip.Man. and B.A. 1962).
Born in Yugoslavia, Michael Kilbertus attended Thomas D'Arcy McGee High School in Montréal. In 1948 he graduated from McGill with a B.Eng. degree in mechanical engineering.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Original, 1946, 2.5 cm (M.G. 3091)
Student essay on "Heat Treatment of Aluminium Alloys", 1946.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, 1862, 3 items (M.G. 3065)
Three letters of recommendation for Kyle from Professors Hicks, Robins and Darvey of the McGill Normal School.
LIVINGSTON, GEORGE ALEXANDER, fl 1825-1863
George A. Livingston was born in Montréal in 1825, and attended courses in the Faculty of Medicine from 1852 to 1855.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Original, 1848-1863, 1 item (M.G. 2093)
Livingston's commonplace-book contains poems (some it would appear, of his own composition) and prose passages on love and various philosophical topics. They include extracts from J.W. Dawson's Archaia. He also used the book for lecture notes for medical courses; surgery (Dr. G. Campbell), chemistry (Dr. M.O. Sutherland) and pathology (Dr. William Fraser).
LIVINSON, ABRAHAM JACOB, 1889-1966
Abraham Jacob Livinson was born in Montréal and educated at the High School of Montreal. He received his B.A. from McGill in 1911, his B.C.L. in 1914, and his M.A. in 1916. His master's thesis was entitled "The Pedagogical Value and Psychical Influence of the Motion Picture on Present Day Educational Systems".
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, Photographs and Printed Materials, 1905-1964, 70 cm (M.G. 2094)
Most of the Livinson papers consists of lecture notes taken between 1905 and 1914 for undergraduate courses in philosophy, literature and history, and for courses in the Law Faculty. Two scrapbooks of clippings and photographs reflect Livinson's interest in Wilfred Laurier, ca 1916-1949, and Abraham Lincoln, 1923-1937; there are also two 'notebooks' of clippings on books on the art of writing, memorable quotations, and speeches, 1936. Livinson's journals, sometimes kept under his own name and sometimes under the pseudonyms 'André Penuel' or 'André Charles' consist primarily of philosophical reflections and aphorisms, 1936-1942, 1947-1948, 1952. A short essay on Barbados, 1936, is accompanied by photographs, and there are also a number of photographs of Montréal scenes. Livinson's autograph collection consists of letters from prominent men, largely Montrealers, in business and government.
William Lochhead was born in Perth, Ontario and educated at McGill (B.A. 1885) and Cornell (M.A. 1895). After teaching in secondary schools and at the Ontario Collegiate Institute in Guelph, he joined the faculty at Macdonald College in 1905 as a Professor of entomology and zoology; his major research specialty
was economic entomology. He retired as Emeritus Professor in 1925.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, n.d., 1884-1885, 1 cm (M.G. 1049)
Lochhead's papers comprise 20 pages of notes on the relationship of ferns and bryophytes, and a volume of notes of Sir William Dawson's lectures in ordinary and honours geology courses.
LOMER, GERHARD RICHARD, 1882-1970
Gerhard Lomer was born in Montréal and graduated B.A. from McGill in 1903. He earned his Ph.D. in education from Columbia in 1910. From 1903 until 1907, Lomer taught English and education at McGill, and in 1920 he was appointed University Librarian, a position he held until his retirement in 1948. In 1927 he succeeded in upgrading McGill's Library School from a summer school to a full graduate course; from 1927 to 1947 he was the School's Director and Professor of Library Administration. Lomer also served as associate director of the University of Ottawa Library School, and as president of the Quebec Library Association (1932-1933) becoming honorary life president in 1937. He wrote a biography of Stephen Leacock and collaborated on educational textbooks.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals and Printed Materials, 1900-1903, ca 1938-1950, 1960, 1964, 12 cm (M.G. 2095)
The bulk of Lomer's papers consists of lecture notes from undergraduate courses in English, philosophy and classics, 1900-1903. Materials stemming from his later career include some personal financial records, 1935, addresses on library topics, ca 1938-1950, and a bibliography of his published works, 1960.
BLACKER-WOOD LIBRARY
Originals and Typescripts, 1921-1952, 3 cm
The papers include correspondence between Casey A. Wood and Prof. O. Haab, 1921; typescript and original manuscript copy, in scrapbook form, of article "On Listening to Birds", by Lomer, 1952; Lomer's typewritten manuscript of a bibliography of the writings of Casey A. Wood, 1938; and other records apparently from Lomer's Office, ca 1935.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1901, 2 cm (New MSS)
Essay entitled "Logic; Deductive and Inductive" written in 1901 while Lomer was a student at McGill.
MacKAY, FREDERICK HOLLAND, 1884-1947
F.H. Mackay was born in Prince Edward Island in 1884 and educated at the Prince of Wales College, Charlottetown. After a period in a C.P.R. construction camp in Western Canada, Mackay came to McGill to study medicine. He graduated in 1912. His experiences in France during the First World War determined his interest in neurology, and he was assistant neurologist at the Royal Victoria Hospital and later neurologist at the Montreal General Hospital.
OSLER LIBRARY
Originals, 1910-1911, 28 cm (Acc. 244)
Lecture notes in medicine, 1910-1911, taken by Mackay at McGill University. They record the following lectures: Frederick Gault Finley on heart trouble, William Fawcett Hamilton on medicine, Henri Amédée Lafleur on the respiratory system and Charles Ferdinand Martin on neurology.
MALLOCH, WILLIAM B, fl 1863-1867
Malloch received his M.D.,C.M. from McGill in 1867.
OSLER LIBRARY
Originals, 1863-1867, 66 items (Acc. 169)
Documents relating to the medical education of William B. Malloch, at McGill University, 1863-1867.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1964, 120 pp (New MSS)
Mayerovitch's "The Man in the green flannel suit" with music by Mike Blumenstein was the 1964 Red and White Revue at McGill.
McDONALD, PERCY ELLICOTT, 1887-1976
A native of Hamilton, Percy McDonald graduated from McGill in 1913 in Civil Engineering but never practiced this profession. He became a war photographer with W.J. Johnson during the First World War. In 1923, McDonald earned a degree in dentistry from the University of Toronto and practiced dentistry until the outbreak of World War II, when he again took up military photography.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, Printed Materials and Photographs, 1907-1916, 1921, 1963, 72 cm (M.G. 2096)
McDonald retained his lecture notes for every course he took at McGill, together with laboratory notebooks and student projects. There are also a few notes from his dental course. Photographs concentrate on student outings and entertainments, engineering field trips, family portraits, and the Quebec Bridge disaster.
James McGarry received his M.C.,C.M. from McGill in 1858.
OSLER LIBRARY
Originals, 1856-1858 (Acc. 258)
These lecture notes on the practice of medicine, 1856-1858, were taken by McGarry from lectures given by Andrew Fernando Holmes at
McGill Medical College.
McKECHNIE, DAVID WILLIAM, fl 1876-1921
A native of Dundas, Ontario, David W. McKechnie obtained his M.D., C.M. from McGill University in 1903.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Printed Materials, 1902-1905, 1921, 5 items (M.G. 3011)
These papers consist of four autographed menus of Medical Class and Reunion dinners, 1902-1905, 1921, and his M.D., C.M. diploma,
1903.
McLAREN, JOHN HAROLD, fl 1879-1947
A native of Osceola, Ontario, John McLaren graduated with a B.Sc. in electrical engineering from McGill in 1901. He later practiced as an engineer.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals and Copies, 1901, 1904-1905, 1947, 1 cm (M.G. 3092)
McLaren's papers contain a notebook of lectures for an engineering course, 1901 copies of operating costs for the Union Light, Heat and Power Co., 1904-1905; and a certificate from the Engineering Institute of Canada, 1947.
McLEAN, CALVIN STOWE, 1889-1970
Calvin S. McLean emigrated to South Africa in 1910, after receiving his B.Sc. from McGill University. He was a pioneer in the development of South African gold and uranium mining. McLean also served on various committees and commissions and was chairman of the Prevention of Accidents Committee of the Chamber of Mines.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, 1909-1910, 15 cm (M.G. 2097)
McLean's papers comprise lecture notes for courses in chemistry, mathematics, geology and mining, 1909-1910.
Hugh McLennan studied architecture at McGill before enlisting in 1914. He served as Sergeant, 5th Battery, C.F.A. and was killed at Ypres, 26 April 1915. The Hugh McLennan Memorial Travelling Scholarship in Architecture was established in his memory.
BLACKADER-LAUTERMAN LIBRARY
Originals, ca 1913, 4 drawings
McLennan's papers comprise four drawings executed by him as a student of architecture.
MINER, GEORGE DENIS, 1893-1917
George Miner was born in Granby, Québec, and graduated from the Faculty of Applied Science in 1916. He enlisted in the Royal Canadian Horse Artillery and served in France, where he died in 1917.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, ca 1900-1916, 32 cm (M.G. 4026)
Miner's papers comprise two elementary school notebooks, and a full series of lecture notes, assignments, and laboratory projects, largely in Mechanical Engineering, produced during his course at McGill.
MONTGOMERY, THOMAS E., fl 1869-1892
Born in Phillipsburg, Québec, Thomas E. Montgomery received a B.A. degree from Bishop's University. He pursued further studies in medicine at McGill University; however, he only attended two sessions, between 1890 and 1892, and left without completing his degree.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals and Printed Materials, 1891-1892, 2.5 cm (M.G. 3097)
The collection consists of T.E. Montgomery's annoted copy of Notes on the Practice of Medicine (lectures by Dr. George Ross of McGill's Medical College), 1891-1892.
Moulton received his M.D.,C.M. from McGill in 1955.
OSLER LIBRARY
Typescript, 1954, 20 p (Acc. 524)
Student essay in psychiatry entitled "The doctor patient relationship" by Sumner E. Moulton written at McGill, 1953 for the Faculty of Medicine, 3rd year.
MOWATT, E. RAE (MRS. GEORGE CHRISTIE), 1884-
Rae Mowatt was born in Fredericton, the daughter of A.J. Mowatt, who in 1894 became pastor of the Erskine Church in Montréal. She received her B.A. from McGill in 1906, and in 1915 married George Christie, a Presbyterian clergyman who served in various Maritime communities.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Photocopy, ca 1904-1960, 4 cm (M.G. 2099)
This copy of Mowatt's commonplace-book contains poems, some of them original compositions by herself or McGill friends; clippings, principally of poetry; and a few items of family correspondence.
Alexander Munro was born in Montréal. Having left school at a young age in order to work in a drugstore, he nonetheless contrived to save enough money to attend McGill University, whence he graduated in medicine in 1878. After an internship in St. Thomas' Hospital, London, and post-doctoral work in Edinburgh and Paris, he returned to Montréal to establish a practice in which he continued until 1931.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, 1876, 3 cm (M.G. 4055)
Munro's papers comprise a draft of his thesis on tuberculosis, together with a good copy of a supplementary chapter on pulmonary
tuberculosis.
NICHOLLS, ALBERT GEORGE, 1871-1946
A native of Shotley Bridge, England, Albert G. Nicholls came to Montréal as a boy. After obtaining his B.A. (1890), M.A. (1893) and M.D. (1894) from McGill, he undertook post-graduate study in Germany and Austria. He received his D.Sc. in 1909, and worked as
a pathologist at the Royal Victoria and Montreal General Hospitals. He was Assistant Professor of pathology at McGill from 1904 to 1916, and Assistant Professor of bacteriology from 1908 until 1911. In 1914, he went to Dalhousie University as Professor of pathology and bacteriology, and was appointed Pathologist for Nova Scotia. He returned to Montréal in 1925 and in 1929 became editor of the Canadian Medical Association's Journal. He retired in 1943.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Printed Materials and Photographs, 1894-95, 1924, 3 items (M.G. 3032)
Nicholl's papers contain sessional tickets, 1887-1890, and photographs of the McGill medical class of 1894 (taken in 1924) and of the resident staff of Royal Victoria Hospital, 1894-1895. Both include Nicholls.
NOBLE, CHARLES THOMPSON, 1831-1932
Born in Markham, Ontario Charles Thompson Noble entered McGill's Medical School in 1853 but left two years later to finish his medical studies at the University of Vermont. He spent his entire professional life as a general practioner in the village of Sutton in the Lake Simcoe District of Ontario. Included among his patients was the young Stephen Leacock. His son, Charles Thompson Noble, graduated from the McGill Medical School in 1890 and succeeded him in his Sutton practice.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Original, 1853-1854, 1 item (M.G. 3040)
Admission ticket for R. Palmer Howard's anatomy course at McGill, with a note from Dr. Howard on the reverse, 1853-1854.
O'BRIAN, ROBERT STUART BROCK, fl 1852-1873
Robert O'Brian, a native of L'Orignal, Ontario, graduated with a M.D., C.M. degree from McGill in 1873.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Photocopies, 1872-1873, 7 items (M.G. 3005)
Photocopies of typed transrcripts of O'Brian's letters to his family during his years at McGill describe student life and amusements, as well as the perennial theme of lack of funds.
PALMER, FREDERICK, fl 1963-1964
Frederick Palmer obtained his Bachelor of Architecture degree from McGill University in 1964.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Microfilm, 1963, 1 reel (M.G. 3061)
Microfilm copy of Palmer's research project entitled An Historical Study of the McGill Students' Union, 1963.
PARSONS, BERNICE E.M., fl 1919-1920
Bernice Parsons was a student in the teacher training programme at Macdonald College (1919-1920).
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Original, 1919-1920, 1.5 cm (M.G. 4071)
This volume is a friendship book in which Bernice Parsons' classmates wrote verse or sentiments. The book also served as a scrapbook of memorabilia, such as dance and concert programmes, birthday cards, and verses on Dean Laird, Mr. Percival, and the College menu.
PATERSON, EDWARD RUSSELL, 1887-
E. Russell Paterson was born in Montréal, the son of W.S. Paterson (see Section XII, Private and Domestic), and took his B.A. from McGill in 1909. After serving in the First World War, he returned to Montréal to become secretary of the Boy Scouts Association of Québec. From his mid-60's until his retirement at the age of 81, he gave courses at Sir George Williams University in astronomy, geology, and the history of science.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, 1904-ca 1920, 14 cm (M.G. 4076)
Paterson's student notebooks cover courses in geology, petrography, and English literature. A post-card from Frank Dawson Adams is also included.
Frances Pishker obtained her Bachelor of Nursing degree from McGill University in 1967.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Photocopy, 1967, 60 pp (M.G. 3058)
A paper written by Pishker for a sociology course discusses "The Lubavitcher Hassidim of Montreal: with special emphasis on the institution of education".
PUGSLEY, WILLIAM HOWARD, 1912-
Born in Montréal, William H. Pugsley obtained his B.Com. in 1934 and Ph.D. in 1950 from McGill, and an M.B.A. in 1936 from Harvard. He was Assistant Professor of management from 1954 to 1960, Associate Professor from 1960 to 1970, Professor of management from 1970 to 1980. Professor Emeritus since 1981, is the author of Canadian Business Organization and Management (1965), among other works.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, Printed and Films, 1932-1935, 2 cm (M.G. 3001)
Pugsley's papers concern his contacts with McGill economics professors during his senior year and as a recent graduate, and
his enthusiasm for McGill sports.
His correspondence comprises a letter from Prof. J.P. Day, 1934, responding to Pugsley's view on the roles of government and the banks in the extension of credit, and two letters from Stephen Leacock, one, 1934, commending a review-article by Pugsley, the second, 1935, declining an invitation to give an address. A number of clippings from the McGill Daily and city newspapers record McGill sports events, ca 1932. Two reels of film provide campus views, interior views of classrooms, and sport events at McGill.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Typescript, 1959, 3.5 cm (M280.Bd283)
Return to sea is the typescript of an autobiography of a former naval man.
RAPHAEL, S. BERNARD, fl 1940-1941
Bernard Raphael received his B.Sc. in 1943 and his B.S.W. in 1947, both from McGill.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Original, 1 cm (M.G. 4061)
A paper on socialized medicine for the Sociology course 1A, 1940-1941.
Ronald S. Reighley was a student in the School for Graduate Nurses at McGill University.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Photocopy and Photographs, 1967, 3 cm (M.G. 3056)
A copy of Reighley's sociology term paper on Caughnawaga Indians, with illustrative photographs.
ROSS, DOROTHY JEAN, fl 1926-1974
Dorothy Ross was born in Montréal and earned her B.A. from McGill in 1930. While teaching at Connaught School she worked for her M.A. in history (1932), and was an assistant in the History Department during the 1933-34 session. Due to a Moyse Travelling Fellowship she was able to spend the remainder of 1934 and 1935 in England conducting research for her doctoral thesis on English justices of the peace in the 16th century. In 1939 she became McGill's first woman Ph.D. In 1936 she began teaching at the High School for Girls, where she became Vice-Principal in 1951 and Principal in 1958. She retired in 1965.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals and Printed Materials, 1926-1974, 14 cm (M.G. 3079)
The bulk of Ross's papers consist of student notebooks for McGill history courses, 1926-1930. There is also a notebook of her pencil sketches of professors, 1927-1928, autograph memoirs of Muriel Wilson, Vice-Principal of the High School for Girls, and some correspondence with the McGill Archives regarding family papers, 1974.
ROSS, WILLIAM BRUCE, 1905-1955
W. Bruce Ross was born in Montréal, and earned his B.Sc. (1930) and M.Sc. (1931) degrees from McGill. As an undergraduate he was particularly active with the Red and White Revue as author, song writer, producer. He joined the Mathematics Department as lecturer in 1932, and was promoted to Assistant Professor in 1942. He was the first Warden of Douglas Hall, and served as assistant registrar from 1946 until his death.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, Copies, Printed Materials, and Photographs, 1919-1938 (M.G. 4047)
The bulk of Ross's papers comprise memoribilia of the Red and White Revue, including lyrics of original songs, programmes, clippings and photographs. Also included are news reports and certificates relating to Ross's student achievements, and a satirical "report" on Douglas Hall, 1938.
RUTTAN, ROBERT FULFORD, 1856-1930
A native of Napanee, Ontario, Robert Ruttan received his M.D.,C.M. from McGill University in 1884. He had a long association with McGill, commencing in 1886 as assistant to the professor of chemistry in the Medical Faculty. He became chairman of the Department of Chemistry in 1913, a position he held until 1928, and served as Dean of Graduate Studies from 1924 to 1927. He was emeritus Dean of Graduate Studies from 1928 to 1929.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, 1881-1915, 6 cm (M.G. 3002)
This archive consists largely of Ruttan's notes on general pathology and physiology lectures given by William Osler as well as a second series of notes on physiology, 1881-1882.
Architect Moshe Safdie was born in Haifa (now in Israel) and graduated in architecture from McGill in 1961. After serving an apprenticeship with architectural firms in Montréal and Philadelphia, he became well known through his design for "Habitat" at Expo 67. He has since worked on housing projects and innovative urban designs, notably the Western Wall Plaza in Jerusalem, largely in Israel and North America. Safdie held a visiting professorship at McGill in 1970, and was appointed Davenport Professor of Architecture at Yale in 1971. In 1975 he went to the Desert Research Institute of Ben-Gurion University as Professor of Architecture, and since 1978 has been director of the School of Urban Design at Harvard.
BLACKADER-LAUTERMAN LIBRARY
Originals, 1960, 32 drawings and booklet
Safdie's student project for the final year of his architectural course at McGill, an extension to Redpath Library, consists of 32 drawings and a small descriptive booklet.
SEE SECTION IV. MEDICINE AND SCIENCE
Born in Québec City, Eric A. Sprenger was educated at Rothesay Collegiate School, in Saint John, New Brunswick, and at Hoscote School, Montréal. He enrolled at McGill in Mechanical Engineering in 1931 and obtained his Bachelor of Engineering in 1940. His brother was William P. Sprenger.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals and Printed Materials, 1926-1940, 21 cm (M.G. 3003)
Sprenger's papers comprise course materials, and items reflecting sports and social activities at McGill in the 1930s. Apart from an annotated high-school geometry text, Sprenger's course materials are from his years at McGill. They comprise class and tutorial notes from each of the four years of the Engineering course. Also included in this series are exercises in freehand and mechanical drawing, 1930, and the outlines, drafts, and typed copies of summer essays for 1934, 1937, and 1939, on paper-making machines.
Other reflections of student life are provided by copies of the McGill Daily for 21 November 1938 and November 29 1940 (the latter reporting the death of William Sprenger) and a song-sheet for an Engineering 'Smoker', 1935. A large scrapbook of newspaper clippings and programmes for swimming meets at McGill and the Montreal Amateur Athletic Association gives particular attention to William Sprenger's participation, 1926-1935.
SPRENGER, WILLIAM PATERSON, 1911-1940
Born in North Bay, Ontario, William Sprenger was educated in private schools in England and Saint John, New Brunswick. He earned his B.A. from McGill in 1931 and his B.C.L. in 1934. During his university years, and afterwards when he worked in the legal section of Canadian Industires, Ltd., he was an outstanding champion swimmer. He was also an amateur pilot, and at the outbreak of World War II, he joined the No. 1 Fighter Squadron of the R.C.A.F. He was killed during the Battle of Britain when his plane was shot down near Loch Lomond, Scotland.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals and Printed Materials and Photographs, 1918-1961, 15 cm
(M.G. 3004)
These papers concern two aspects of Sprenger's career: his school and college record, and his death and subsequent memorials.
Sprenger's school records comprise reports from his school in England, 1918, and from Rothesay Collegiate School, Saint John, 1921-1926, together with a copy of the R.C.S. magazine recording his graduation, 1927, and a letter to his father, 1926. Two photographs of the Rothesay Football team, 1924, 1926, show Sprenger as captain. His McGill years are documented by matriculation, 1927, and graduation, 1931, certificates, convocation programmes, 1931 and 1934 and an official transcript of marks, 1933. His sports prowess is reflected by the programme of a Quebec Swimming Association competition organized by Sprenger in 1936 and by seven photographs of athletic and swimming teams in which Sprenger participated while at McGill. Various sports certificates, and Sprenger's amateur pilot's licence, 1939, also survive.
His death in action is recorded by about eight letters of condolence to his parents from Air Force officers and chaplain, as well as his flying mates. They enclose Sprenger's 'Wings' and photographs of him and of his grave. Printed tributes to Sprenger from newspapers, and the house magazines of Canadian Industries, Ltd and of the Montreal Amateur Athletic Association are supplemented by other periodical articles on the R.C.A.F. and the
Battle of Britain.
STRUTHERS, ROBERT BAXTER, 1858-
R.B. Struthers received his M.D.,C.M. from McGill University in 1883.
OSLER LIBRARY
Originals, ca 1880 (Acc. 282)
Lecture notes taken by Robert Struthers at McGill Medical College, including notes on pathology, surgery and ophthalmology.
Lecturers include Robert Palmer Howard, Sir Thomas George Roddick and Sir William Osler.
William Tobin was born in England and came to Canada as a young man. In 1903 he took a job as a laboratory assistant in the Faculty of Medicine, and two years later he became caretaker of the Medical Students' Reading Room and porter of the Medical Building, a post he held until his retirement in 1937. Tobin was elected as "King Cook III", guest of honour and the focus of elaborate satire and practical joking at Medical student banquets from 1913 until 1927.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, Printed Materials, ca 1903-1940, 5 cm (M.G. 1097)
Tobin's papers consist of a scrapbook and photo album containing programmes, menus and newspaper clippings concerning the "King Cook" celebrations, 1911-1927, newspaper obituaries and photographs of Medical Faculty professors, programmes for social events of the Medical Society, Pharmaceutical Society and the McGill Employees Association (of which Tobin was secretary) and letters of recommendation from the Medical Students Society, 1921-1931.
After attending Dawson College, Beverly Tweed was admitted into the second year of the CEGEP program of McGill in 1972. Majoring in psychology, she graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree from McGill in 1975. As a special student in McGill's Faculty of Science she followed additional courses during the 1975-1976 academic session.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, Copies and Printed Materials, 1972-1976, 1.3 m (M.G. 3064)
The greater part of the Tweed papers is course materials, composed of lecture notes in psychology, sociology, anthropology, political science, geography, history, French and English, as well as term papers and assignments (with their research notes) and examinations. There is also correspondence with McGill offices on student matters.
VALENTINE, HUGH ALLEN INGLIS, 1904-
Hugh Valentine was born in Dundee, Scotland, and came to Canada as a child. He graduated in architecture from McGill in 1928.
BLACKADER-LAUTERMAN LIBRARY
Originals, ca 1928, 7 notebooks and 1 drawing
Valentine's papers comprise a design for a church submitted as a student project and seven student notebooks, largely for courses given by Ramsey Traquair.
WATTS, WILLIAM JOHN, 1846-1917
Born in Drummondville, Québec, William John Watts was a son of Lieutenant Colonel Robert Nugent Watts, a landowner and member of the House of Assembly for the Province of Canada, and Charlotte Sheppard. He was educated at the High School Department of McGill College, 1861-1862 and the Military School of Instruction at Québec, 1864. He received an honours B.A. degree in classics in 1866 and a B.C.L. degree in 1869 from McGill University. Admitted to the Bar in 1869, he pursued his law practice in Drummondville.
In 1882 he married May Louisa Millar. He sat as a Conservative and later as a Liberal member for Drummond-Arthabaska in the Provincial Assembly of Québec. In 1901 he resigned his seat to become the Registrar for Montréal West.
McCORD MUSEUM (Fonds Level Update ENGLISH / FRANÇAIS)
Originals, 1861-1866, 1.25 cm (Unaccessioned)
The bulk of William John Watts papers pertain to his student days
and consists of a daily diary from his days at the High School, 1861, certificates and lists of expenses from his stay at the School of Military Instruction, and admission tickets, receipts and bills for personal expenses, mainly clothing purchases for his stay at McGill University, 1863-1866. Also included is correspondence from his parents on their farming and social activities, 1861-1866.
WHITWELL, WILLIAM PETER OLCOTT, 1835-1892
W.P.O. Whitwell received his M.D.,C.M. from McGill in 1860.
OSLER LIBRARY
Originals, 1856-1860, 18 cm (Acc. 280)
These lecture notes in medicine, 1856-1860, were taken by Whitwell at McGill. The notes record lectures in physiology, pathology, materia medica, practice of medicine and surgery. Lecturers include Drs. W. Fraser, W. Wright, A.F. Holmes and G.W. Campbell.
WISDOM FAMILY PAPERS, fl 1897-1911
Three daughters of the Wisdom family of Saint John, New Brunswick, graduated from McGill in the first decade of this century: Katharine Forrester Wisdom (B.A. 1903), Jane Barnes Wisdom (B.A. 1907) and Elizabeth Bell Wisdom (B.A. 1909).
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
Originals, printed materials, photocopies and photographs, 1897-1911, 20 cm (M.G. 2015)
This archive contains letters and copies of letters, from the Wisdom sisters to one another, describing their experiences at Royal Victoria College, 1900-1908. There is also a letter from Stephen Leacock, accepting an invitation to deliver an address, and two from Hilda Oakeley to Mrs. Wisdom. Programmes (particularly of R.V.C. plays and sports events), clippings, and photographs are also included. There are also course notes for C.W. Colby's Renaissance history and William Caldwell's history of modern philosophy.