Family and Private Life


Table of Contents



Originals, 1778-1821, 8 cm (M202.Bd195)

This collection consists of translations from Terence, begun in 1778 and correspondence on military, political and private matters, 1787-1821, mostly addressed to Thomas Coutts, banker.


Brother of Joseph Frobisher, the fur trader, Benjamin Frobisher was born in Halifax, England. He emigrated to Canada where he was involved in the fur-trade as early as 1765, in partnership with John Welles. Later he and his brothers, Joseph and Thomas, were associated with James McGill. It appears that he looked after the Montréal end of the business of Frobisher and Co., in partnership with his brothers and never went west of Grand Portage. He died in Montréal.


Original, ca 1819, 2.5 cm (CH182.S163a)

Narrative of circumstances attending Benjamin Frobisher's death.


Simon McTavish was born in Scotland. He came to America in 1764, apparently making Albany his headquarters. In 1774 he moved to Montréal where in 1779 he shared in the organization of the original North West Co. In 1787 McTavish became senior partner in the new firm of McTavish, Frobisher and Co., which held a controlling interest in the North West Co. He also headed the London firm of McTavish, Fraser. McTavish became one of the wealthiest men in Montréal.


Originals and Copies, 1805, 1922-1926, 5 cm (CH140.S10, CH150.S20, CH355.S315)

The greater portion of this collection consists of notes and documents conerning McTavish, his family, house, business, and monument, collected by Samuel M. Baylis, 1922-1926. These are mostly copies of documents in the Archives of the Montréal law courts. There are also minutes and resolutions of the Executors of McTavish, and minutes of the executors of his will, 1805.



Original, 1620, 40 pp (H166.Bd290)

This book of household accounts is probably of English origin.



Originals, 1840, 1852, .5 cm (M120.Bd114)

This collection consists of 15 autograph letters between a gentleman signing "J.T." and Miss Fanny Caulfield. Also included is a love letter by J. Finerty, the Irish poet, dated 1852.


Duncan Peter Anderson graduated from McGill with a B.A. in 1890 and an M.D. in 1895. He was Assistant Demonstrator in Pathology, 1898-1901 and Demonstrator, 1904.


Originals, 1894-1952 (Acc. 553)

Scrapbook and file of memorabilia of Anderson and his family, 1894-1952.



Original, 1815, 4 pp (M281.Bd Box VII)

Unsigned family letter to Charles Burney.



Originals, 1807, 10 pp (CH195.S173)

Inventaire des possessions communes de Gabriel Boulanger de Québec et de son épouse Marie Victoire Lacombe.


Born in Québec, Sherman N. Boright (1836-1897) was a merchant and farmer in the Eastern Townships. He was a councillor and mayor of the Village of Sutton for several terms, served with the local militia during the Fenian troubles, and was a member of the local agricultural society. He married Mary Olmstead (1848-1941) in 1866 and they had at least three children: George W. (d.1934), Sherman Henry (d.1918) and Mabel Alice. Sherman graduated from McGill in 1903 with a B.Sc. in Mining Engineering. He worked as a mining engineer and mine manager in Italy and Africa. Mabel Alice obtained her McGill B.A. degree in 1893 and married David Alexander Rodger, M.D. (b.1868) in 1903. They had one son, William Sherman (b.1904) who received his B.A. (1925) and M.D. (1929) from McGill. In the 1920s Mabel Alice Rodger served as a president of the Quebec Women's Institutes (est. 1920), a rural self-help organization administered through Macdonald College.


Originals, 1859-1934, 10 cm (Unaccessioned)

The Boright-Rodger family papers reflect their domestic lives with some material pertaining to their military, professional, and social activities. The bulk of papers consist of the correspondence of Sherman N. Boright, 1869-1895, and his wife, Mary Olmstead, 1859-1930, with family and friends concerning illnesses, births, funerals, parental advice and local news. As a militiaman during the Fenian raid near Freligsburg, Sherman N. Boright sent letters to his family concerning his activities in 1870. There is also incoming correspondence to family members from Sherman Boright, describing his activities as a mining engineer in Africa, 1903-1916, and from Josephine E. LeBaron to Mabel Alice Rodger concerning their resignations as presidents of the Quebec Women's Institutes, 1928-1929.


La famille Boucher de Niverville descend de Pierre Boucher qui arriva en Nouvelle-France, croit-on, en 1635. Boucher fut nommé gouverneur des Trois-Rivières en 1635, un poste qu'il occupa jusqu'en 1667, moment où on lui octroya la seigneurie de Boucherville. Parmi les nombreux descendants de Pierre Boucher, on compte Joseph-Claude Boucher de Niverville, un soldat et un explorateur, qui maria Marie-Josephte Chastelain en 1757. Son fils, Joseph-Michel, fut également seigneur de Trois-Rivières.


Originaux, 1727-1853, 1 cm (Ch350.S310)

Ces documents concernent surtout les intérêts fonciers de membres de la famille Boucher de Niverville de 1727 à 1795. Ils comprennent cinq pièces au sujet des propriétés de Joseph-Claude Boucher acquises lors de son mariage à Marie-Josephte Chastelain et une déclaration (1835) concernant la division de ses propriétés entre ses enfants. Parmi les trois documents provenant de Joseph-Michel Boucher (1832-1853), on retrouve une pétition à Lord Gosford réclamant une indemnité pour reconnaître ses services militaires en 1812 et 1837.


Jean M. Bovey was the daughter of H.T. Bovey and the grand daughter of John Redpath.


Original, 1897-1967, 1 cm (New MSS)

This album of autographs, 1897-1967 was begun for his daughter by H.T. Bovey and contains the signatures of many of the participants in the British Association for the Advancement of Science meeting in Montréal, 1897.

BRISCOE, CHARLES J., 1812-1887


Originals, 1835-1913, 30 cm

There is a journal kept sporadically from 3 August 1835 to 4 July 1839 as well as a notebook titled "Mathematics, 1835", a synopsis of the life of Sir Herbert Taylor and of Sir Charles Forbes and a letter from Sir Charles Forbes to Lord John Russell, 1848, concerning Charles J. Briscoe and his family.

BUXTON FAMILY, 1869-1957


Originals, 1869-1957, 1.6 m

This collection includes personal and political correspondence of Noel Edward Noel-Buxton, first Baron of Aylcham, 1869-1948; Charles Rodeen Buxton, 1875-1942; Dorothy Francis Buxton, 1938-1940; Lady Lucy Edith Noel-Buxton, 1946-1949 and A. Pelham Burn, 1926-1945. As well there is correspondence of other family members and family photographs and articles and newspaper clippings. See also Section VII. Politics and Government, Noel-Buxton, Noel Edward.

CAMPBELL FAMILY, ca 1790-1899

This family lived in Scotland and Ontario.


Originals, 1790-1899, 6 cm (Large MSS)

Record of births and deaths, 1812-1899; diaries, 1820-1821, 1824-1825, 1898-1899; copy book of family letters, 1790-1886; genealogical tree and register of Charlottenburgh municipality, Ontario, 1851 and 1876 to 1880.



Originals, 1857, .5 cm (CH343.S303)

Legal documents in the case of R. Campbell vs Samuel Gerrand concerning property in Montréal.

CANTLIE, GEORGE, fl 1883-1887

William Osler (q.v.), H.V. Ogden, (McGill M.D. 1882) and George Cantlie lived together at 1351 Ste-Catherine St. in Montréal ca 1882-1883. The three continued to correspond with each other for some years afterwards.


Originals, 1883-1887, 6 items (Acc. 20)

The correspondence and notes of George Cantlie include letters from George Cantlie to H.V. Ogden.



Copies, 1541-1583, 1.5 cm (H59.Bd18)

This is a collection of copies of legal documents concerning the Capacci family.


Born about 1857, Michael Charrier belonged to the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and was employed by Canadian Pacific Railways. His son, Victor Charrier, was born about 1893, served in the Canadian army during the First World War and worked as a salesman. Both men lived on Spadina Avenue in Ottawa.


Originals, 1910-1930, 10 cm (Unaccessioned)

The papers of Michael and Victor Charrier concern their personal finances. Michael Charrier's papers consist of invoices, 1920-1929. Victor Charrier's papers contain a Canadian army pay book, 1918 and receipts, 1920-1930.


La Famille Chartier de Lotbinière fut anoblie en France au début du XVième siècle et maria dans plusieurs autres familles nobles de France. La famille vint probablement au Canada en 1651. Ses deux plus importants membres furent Michel, Marquis de Lotbinière, un ingénieur à Fort Carillon (Ticonderoga) et son fils, Michel Eugène Gaspard Alain, qui fut député à l'Assemblée Législative du Bas-Canada de 1792 to 1796 et Président de l'Assemblée à partir de 1794.


Originaux, 1664-1871, 30 cm (CH362.S322, CH236.S214, CH237.S215, CH239.S217, CH282.S242, CH233.S211, CH241.S219, CH242.S220, CH243.S221, CH245.S222, CH246.S223, CH247.S224, CH248.S225, CH37.S71, CH257.S23, CH31.S67, CH83.S101, CH193.S171

Ce fonds peut être divisé en diverses séries: les archives familiales et la correspondance, 1664-1699, 1798-1799, 1818-1820; les archives et la correspondance d'affaires, 1701-1833; les documents et la correspondance légale, 1721-1822; la correspondance concernant la ligne de démarcation entre le Haut et le Bas Canada, 1791-1799; et des documents relatifs aux Seigneuries de Vaudreuil et de Rigaud, 1763-1771, 1779-1821.

CHESTER, WILLIAM, ca 1728-1730


Originals, 1728-1730, 1.5 cm (H106)

This collection consists of legal documents concerning the settlements of the estates of Sir W. Chester, 1728-1730.


Born in Moose Factory, Edward Seaborne Clouston (1849-1912) joined the Bank of Montreal as a clerk in 1865. He became the Bank's General Manager in 1890 and the first Vice-President in 1906. He was created a baronet in 1908. In 1878 he married Annie Easton (n.d.) and they had two daughters, Marjory and Osla. Marjory married John L. Todd, a graduate of McGill in medicine (1900) and later an Associate Professor of parasitology at the University.


Originals, Printed, Photographs, 1890-1942, 1.2 m (Unaccessioned)

The greater part of the Clouston papers consists of the personal correspondence of Marjory Clouston Todd and John L. Todd, 1917-1940. The papers of other family members include a scrapbook of Edward Clouston, 1902-1910; diaries of social life in Montréal and of trips abroad kept by Osla Clouston, 1894-1902; and a guest book which belonged to Annie Easton Clouston, 1902-1919. There are also family photographs, 1880-1910. The collection also included a notebook from the Bank of Montréal with personal and financial information on customers, n.d.

COHN, HARRY, fl 1912

Harry Cohn was an employee of the Canadian Bag Co., William Street, Montréal.


Original, 1912, 1 item (M.G. 4017)

This material consists of a letter from Cohn's friend "Jack", an employee of the Granville Power Co., Dawson City, Yukon, relating personal news, telling of life in the Yukon, and enclosing mineral specimens.


The family of John William Dawson, geologist and Principal of McGill University, may be followed through four generations. For John William Dawson's papers as Principal, see Record Group 2. For Dawson's private papers and those of his son-in-law, B.J. Harrington, see Section I, McGill Teaching and Research. For the papers of George Mercer Dawson, see Section IV, Medicine and Science. Family members include James Dawson, a Scots immigrant to Nova Scotia, printer, stationer, unsuccessful investor and zealous Presbyterian; his son John William, the McGill principal from 1855 to 1893; John William's wife Margaret Mercer and their children, George Mercer Dawson, explorer, geologist, and Director of the Geological Survey; William Bell Dawson, an engineer; Rankine Dawson, M.D.; and Anna Lois Dawson: Also represented are her husband B.J. Harrington, consulting chemist and Professor at McGill University and their children; and Eva Dawson and her husband Hope Atkin.


Originals, Photographs, 1800-1917, 3.8 m (M.G. 1022)

The whole collection provides a detailed picture of the internal life of this Victorian family. Although the papers largely consist of correspondence, it also contains approximately 30 cm of photographs, mostly in albums, depicting various events of the life of the family and its members.

JAMES DAWSON, 1800-1861, 30cm (c.45-c.47)

The papers of James Dawson contain a few letters from family and friends in Scotland, and later, some correspondence with his son John William and his grandson George, but the bulk of his correspondence is concerned with his business interests and legal affairs. This includes deeds to land in Pictou, authorizations, copies of wills, and other legal documents; correspondence concerning publishing ventures and other money-making schemes, as well as government economic policy; and finally, bills, invoices with books titles and receipts from his book and stationery store. These files also contain correspondence, reports and notes on Dawson's involvement in Bible and missionary societies. James Dawson also wrote two autobiographies: a "Narrative diary" from 1849-1861, and the more formal "Incidents of a Life", ca 1859.

MARGARET MERCER DAWSON, 1836-1907, 40 cm (c.50-c.53)

The papers of Margaret Mercer Dawson (c.50-c.53) consist of 6 cm of letters from her husband, 1848-1873; 14 cm from her children, 1858-1906; 13 cm from her Scottish relatives and friends, 1836-1907; and 35 cm (approximately one-third undated) from friends, 1855-1906.

ANNA DAWSON HARRINGTON, 1851-1917, 40 cm (c.61-c.64)

Anna Dawson Harrington's papers comprise 1.5 cm of letters from J.W. Dawson, 1868-1896; 3 cm from Margaret Mercer Dawson, 1870-1902; 10 cm from George Mercer Dawson, 1865-1901; 7 items from William Bell Dawson, 1868-1876; 5 items from Rankine Dawson, 1871-1899; 15 items from Eva Dawson Atkin, 1880-1896; 13 cm from her husband B.J. Harrington, 1876-1906; 2 cm from her children, 1892-1913; 1 cm of congratulatory letters at the time of her marriage, 1875-1876; 13 letters from friends and associates, 1867-1911; 4 cm of letters of sympathy on the death of her husband, 1907; 2 cm of letters concerning subscriptions for his portrait, a girlhood diary, 1866-1871 and some notes for biographies of J.W. Dawson and George Mercer Dawson.

WILLIAM BELL DAWSON, 1854-1944, 1 cm (c.68)

William Bell Dawson's papers contain 6 items of family correspondence, 1868-1899, and photographs. There are also photographs and a few items of correspondence belonging to his daughter Cristall.

RANKINE DAWSON, 1863-1913, 5 cm (c.68)

The papers of Rankine Dawson comprise 2 cm from J.W. Dawson, 1881-1899; 8 items from Margaret Mercer Dawson, 1882-1893; 2.5 cm from his brothers and sisters; and some general correspondence.


Eva Dawson Atkin is represented by four items of correspondence, 1870-1896 and her husband Hope Atkin by three items (1889-1891). Papers belonging to the children of Anna Dawson Harrington and B.J. Harrington are distributed as follows: Eric Harrington, 3 items of family correspondence, 1883-1894; William Harrington, 3 cm of letters from his mother, 1899-1910; Bernard Harrington, 4 items of family correspondence, 1900; Ruth Harrington, 2 cm of letters, largely from her mother, 1894-1912; Edith Harrington, 1 letter from her father, 1888; Clare Harrington, 1 cm of family correspondence, 1889-1907; and 1 cm of letters of sympathy on the death of her mother; Lois Harrington Winslow-Spragge, 2 cm of family letters largely from her mother (1898-1917) and 2 cm of notes and extracts on family history. All items in this collection are indexed; correspondence is indexed by author, recipient, and date.


JAMES DAWSON, 1800-1861, Originals, 1828-1861, 8 cm (CH380.S342-4)

James Dawson's papers fall into two series. Business correspondence largely concerns his Lloyd's agency and his book and stationery shop. Private correspondence includes letters from two nieces, Agnes Stewart and Jane Morrison.


La branche canadienne de la famille de Salaberry remonte à Michel de Salaberry, un capitaine de mer gascon qui épousa Madeleine Louise, fille d'Ignace Juchereau Duchesnay de Saint Denys, seigneur de Beauport. Un fils, Ignace Michel Louis Antoine d'Irumberry de Salaberry, prit part à la défense de Québec en 1775 et devint conseiller législatif en 1817, après avoir été député de divers comtés de 1792 à 1809. Un des fils de ce dernier, Charles Michel d'Irumberry de Salaberry eut une carrière militaire mouvementée dont le point tournant fut la défense de Lacolle et Châteauguay contre les Américains en 1813 à la tête des Voltigeurs.


Originaux, 1785-1912, 10 cm (New MSS)

Le fonds comprend dix lettres adressées à De Salaberry et à certains de ses proches sur divers sujets de 1785 à 1912, un manuel de manoeuvres militaires de Major Michel de Salaberry, 1796, des photographies, des cartes postales, un spicilège (ca 1834-1841) et quelques documents relatifs à Frederick George Heriot (ca 1818).


Marie-Angélique Birranger was the wife of Henri Desrivières (1804-1865), the son of François Amable Desrivières (1764-1830), principal heir of James McGill.


Originals, 1843-1850, 1853-1854, 8 cm (CH1.S37)

Madame Desrivière's diaries describe social, family and economic life in Montréal and Stansbridge, Québec. The first (1843-1846) and last (1853-1854) volumes are in French, the others in English.


Né à Québec, Jean Dessaulles (1766-1835) hérita en 1814 de la Seigneurie de St-Hyacinthe. Membre de l'Assemblée Législative du Bas-Canada de 1816 à 1832, il maria Rosalie Papineau, soeur de Louis Joseph Papineau. Ils eurent deux fils, Louis-Antoine (1819-1895), Georges-Casimir (1827-1930) et une fille, Rosalie-Eugénie qui maria Maurice Laframboise, un politicien. Louis-Antoine, politicien bien connu, membre du parti Rouge, fut le Seigneur de Saint-Hyacinthe. Georges-Casimir devint maire de St-Hyacinthe et fut nommé Sénateur par Wilfrid Laurier en 1907. Il fut marié à Emilie Mondelet (d.1867) en 1857, et en seconde noces à France Louise Leman en 1869. Cette dernière fut la fille du docteur Denis Leman et Honorine Papineau, elle même la fille de Denis-Benjamin et Angélique Louise C. Papineau. Henriette Dessaulles (1860-1946), fille de Georges-Casimir, maria Maurice St. Jacques en 1881 et devint journaliste au journal Le Devoir. Son journal personnel couvrant les années 1874 à 1881 fut publié en 1971 sous le titre: Fadette-Journal d'Henriette Dessaulles.


Originals, 1700-1950, 2 m (Unaccessioned)

La plus grande partie du fonds de la famille Dessaules porte sur la vie familiale et domestique des familles Dessaulles, Papineau et Leman. Les aspects politique et économique de ces familles y sont aussi présents, mais à un moindre degré.

Le fonds est constitué de la correspondance de Marie Rosalie Cherrier Papineau, 1811-1815, Angélique Louise C. Papineau, 1830, Jean Dessaulles, 1831, Rosalie Papineau Dessaulles, 1803-1857, Denis Benjamin Papineau, 1814-1844, Honorine Papineau Leman, 1840-1881, Denis Leman, 1841-1845, Frances (Fanny) Leman, 1864-1894, Louis Joseph Papineau, 1842-1870, Amédée Papineau, 1837-1857, Lactance Papineau, 1840-1842 et Georges Casimir Dessaulles, 1858-1894. Les correspondants incluent Louis-Antoine Dessaulles, 1841-1894 et Joseph Papineau, 1817-1837. Le fonds comprend également les journaux personnels d'Henriette Dessaulles, 1874-1881.


Andrew Drummond was born in 1811 in Scotland where he received a university education. In 1833 he came to Canada at the invitation of his uncle, Robert Drummond, who was then executing extensive works on the Rideau Canal. After Robert Drummond's death, Andrew Drummond occupied positions in the Bank of Canada, at Kingston and in the Bank of Motnreal. He published a number of articles, mostly on botany and geology.


Photocopies, ca 1900, 2 cm (New MSS)

This material comprises a copy of a family book and of a genealogy of Andrew Drummond, ca 1900.

EWAN, ELEANOR, fl 1917

Eleanor Ewan was a resident of Montréal and of Georgeville, Québec. She was a friend of Dr. John McCrae, author of "In Flanders' Fields."


Original, 1917, 1 item (M.G. 3012)

A letter from Dr. John McCrea, written from the No. 3 Canadian General Hospital describes religious services at the hospital and provides some general news of the hospital as well.


A native of Montréal, Norman Friedman graduated with a Bachelor of Commerce degree in 1921. He worked for insurance and phonograph companies, and in later life was vice-president of Allen's (a candy manufacturer) and partner in Friedman Brothers (wholesale clothiers). His avocation was collecting, particularly first editions of Leacock and Kipling; a number of his books were donated to the McGill University Library.


Originals and Printed Materials, 1898-ca 1950, 10 cm (M.G. 3060)

Friedman's scrapbook, ca 1910-ca 1950, consists largely of printed programmes and memorabilia from his McGill student days. Other personal mementos stem from his involvement in Zeta Beta Tau Fraternity, and various Jewish social groups. There are also newsclippings, particularly on World War I and on fascism and anti-semitism in Québec. Also included are two items from his autograph collection: a letter from Israel Zangwill, 1897, and one from Upton Sinclair, 1932.


Born in Maine, John Frothingham (1788-1870) came to Montréal in 1809. Later, in partnership with William Workman he helped manage the largest hardware and wholesale iron business in British North America. He also served as the president of the City Bank from 1834 to 1849. Two of his children were George (n.d.) and Frederick (1825-1891).


Originals, Copies, 1830-1850, 3 cm (Unaccessioned)

The Frothingham family papers contain British passports issued to George and Frederick Frothingham, 1849, and a sketch book of watercolours, accompanied by limericks, ca 1830-1850.


Born in England, Andrew Hamilton Gault, grew up in Montréal and attended Bishop's University in Lennoxville and McGill University. He left McGill in 1900 to join the Second Canadian Mounted Rifles and fight in the Boer War. After his return to Montréal, he became involved in his family's extensive business and manufacturing activities. A member of the Montreal Board of Trade, 1911-1913, Gault also was the Consul General for Sweden in Canada, 1909-1911. When the First World War began, Gault decided to raise and equip a regiment for service overseas. The regiment was named "The Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry" and Gault, as Colonel, was its commander during the war. After the war he remained in England where he became a Member of Parliament from 1924-1935, and sought to promote closer trade relations within the Empire. Although he spent much of his time in England, Gault still retained close links to Canada and bequeathed his Mont St. Hilaire estate to McGill University in 1958.


Originals, 1912-1913, 2 items (M.G. 3068)

These papers consist of two volumes of a diary kept by Gault during a safari in German West Africa.

GORDON, ARCHIBALD, fl 1759-1760


Originals, 1759-1760, 1 cm

These papers consist of letters from Archibald Gordon to his daughter, Mrs. Ahmuty, and to Mrs. Gordon, Dublin, about Canadian events. The letters were written from Fort George and Camp Crown Point.


Born in New Hampshire, William Grannis (1781-1833) moved to Hatley in the Eastern Townships of Lower Canada in 1816. He married Nancy M. Dustan (b.1791) and they had six children: Sarah (b.1809), Jane (1812-1830), Harriet (b.1814), Elizabeth C.T. (b.1822), Helen W. (b.1818) and William C. (b.1826). In 1829, the Grannis family moved to Stanstead in the Eastern Townships, where William Grannis became one of the founders of the Stanstead Seminary. Sarah Grannis married Dr. R. Parmelee. Harriet Grannis married Sidney P. Redfield. Elizabeth Grannis married Dr. John Meigs, M.D. (b.1810) in 1843. Helen W. Grannis married Timothy P. Redfield, and William C. Grannis married Lucia Baldwin.


Originals, 1815-1843, 2.5 cm (Unaccessioned)

The Grannis family papers deal with their private and domestic lives. Correspondence, mainly between family members, contains news of family and friends and local events, such as farm sales, 1815-1843.

GRANT FAMILY, ca 1870-1975

Bertha Alice Grant (? - 1974) and her sister Angelina (Dolly) Grant (1893-1975) cultivated from their school days a life-long interest in the history of their family and their home town, Grantville, Cape Breton, Nova Scotia. This devotion survived the removal of many of the family to New England, including Bertha herself, who for most of her adult life worked for welfare agencies in Boston.


Originals and Printed Materials, ca 1870-1975; 30 cm (M.G. 2065)

This is an archive of family memorabilia, with no records of the professional careers of the Grants. Amongst the family memorials are Angelina Grant's brief notes on Grant family history, 1962, and the school-girl albums, assembled in 1910 by Bertha and her sister Edith, on the history of Grantville and the physical and human geography of Truro. As well, there is a memorial album of callers at Angelina Grant's funeral and five Bibles, most of which contain family obituaries. Family photographs are grouped in a large album of formal portraits, mostly by Boston photographers, ca 1875-1900; a small album of snapshots, ca 1935-1950; and about a dozen mounted or framed portraits, ca 1890-1930. None are identified. Private memorials include an autograph album and birthday book, ca 1887-1890, belonging to Jamima (Jenny) Dowring Grant, Bertha and Dolly's aunt; Bertha's scrapbook, ca 1960-63, largely of obituaries, wedding notices and items of religious interest; and Angelina's diary and address book, ca 1962-74, with her notes on the weather and the deaths of her friends and members of the family.


The firm of Greenshield's Ltd., dry goods wholesalers, was founded in Montréal in 1833 by Samuel Greenshields and his son John. The firm's prosperity reached its height under the presidency of John's son, Edward Black Greenshields (1850-1917). E. B. Greenshields graduated from McGill in 1869 with the gold medal in philosophy, and became a partner in the family firm in 1876, and president in 1903. He was one of the wealthiest and most powerful financial figures of his day, being a director of the Bank of Montreal, the Grand Trunk Railroad and Standard Life Assurance, as well one of the founders of Royal Trust. He was a long-standing member of the Montreal Board of Trade, and its president in 1892. He was also honourary treasurer of McGill from 1903-1911. Greenshields was deeply interested in literature and art. He wrote peotry, contributed to the University Magazine and was the author of two books on landscape painting. He was also an enthusiastic art collector. When he died in 1917, he was survived by his wife, Eliza Cook Greenshields, his daughter, Muriel (Mrs. Graham Drinkwater), his son Edward John Moray Greenshields (d.1962), and his sisters Margaret and Jane.


Originals, Printed Materials and Photographs, ca 1822-ca 1952, 2 m (Unaccessioned)

The Greenshields papers reflect both their private and domestic lives and their cultural activities.

The Edward Black Greenshields papers contain draft and printed poems, printed and manuscript essays and addresses including "Two Speaking Portraits" on Andrew MacPhail and a draft of Landscape Painting and Modern Dutch Artists. There is correspondence primarily concerning art criticism, 1904-1915 and an album containing correspondence on poetry from Andrew MacPhail. There are also diaries which record Greenshields daily activities in Montréal and his European travels, 1894-1913. The Eliza Cook Greenshields papers deal with her private and domestic life and include diaries which briefly record daily activities and travels, 1897-1919 and household accounts 1922-1923, 1931-1934.

The Muriel Greenshields Drinkwater papers reflect her interest in poetry and contain a manuscript volume of poetry and two scrapbooks of printed poems. There is also correspondence from her father E.B. Greenshields, ca 1898-1916 and a notebook recording stock purchases, ca 1955-1957.

Charles Graham Drinkwater's papers consist of a three volume manuscript log of an expedition by boat to Hudson Bay in 1897.

The papers of Edward John Moray Greenshields contain correspondence, notebooks and scrapbooks. These reflect his interest in various popular pastimes, sports and foreign travel, and his relations with the entertainment community. These papers are closed until A.D. 2000.

This group of papers also contain legal and financial records including contracts, wills, investment certificates and insurance policies of several members of the family, 1822-1920. Researchers should also consult the papers of Greenshields, Inc., section V, business and economy.


Robert Alfred Ernes Greenshields (1861-1942) was born in Danville, Québec and graduated from McGill in Arts in 1883, and in Civil Law in 1885. One of his first court cases was the trial of Louis Riel, where he served as defence counsel. Greenshields established his practice in Montréal, and was created Q.C. in 1899. In 1910 he was appointed judge of the Superior Court of the Province of Quebec, becoming Chief Justice in 1929. At McGill, Greenshields became Associate Professor of Criminal Law in 1915, and full Professor in 1920. From 1923 until 1927 he served as Dean, and retired in 1929 as Emeritus Professor. In 1932 he was appointed Chancellor of Bishop's University.


Originals, Printed Materials and Photographs, 1905-1946, 40 cm (M.G. 2066)

Approximately half of the Greenshields papers consist of photo albums showing vacation scenes with family and friends in St Andrew's, New Brunswick, 1905-1906, Europe, ca. 1905, and Sea Island, Georgia, 1939-1941. Photo albums compiled by Margaret Greenshields (Mrs Stephen White), daughter of Chief Justice Greenshields, contain army photos of Cyril White, 1915; pictures of family and friends, 1915; and views of scenery at Jasper, 1930. There are also a number of formal portraits of members of the family. The remainder of the papers consist largely of scrapbooks of clippings, correspondence and photographs. One contains newsclippings about Greenshields and some correspondence and photos. Another, compiled by Margaret Greenshields White, relates to her family's World War I service, 1914-1918. The other two, assembled by Mrs R.A.E. Greenshields, contain Golden Wedding souvenirs, 1940; and material on the death of Chief Justice Greenshields, 1942. Also included is a presentation drawing by architect Edward Maxwell of the house on Drummond St. which he designed for Greenshields.

HART FAMILY, 1760-1972



Robert Unwin Harwood was born in Sheffield, England. He came to Canada to work for the family-owned wholesale hardware house of John Harwood and Co. of Montréal. In 1823 he married the eldest daughter of Michel Eustache Gaspard Alain Chartier de Lotbinière. When his wife inherited the seigneury of Vaudreuil in 1829, Harwood exchanged trade in Montréal for management of the estate. In 1832 he was appointed to the Legislative Council of Lower Canada. After 1840 he did not actively participate in politics until 1847 when he stood for election in Vaudreuil as a Reform candidate. He was defeated then and again in 1851 and 1854. Harwood was finally elected to the assembly from Vaudreuil in 1858. In 1860 he resigned his seat and won election to the Legislative Council for Rigaud.


Originals, 1823-1853, 5 cm (CH215.S193 a&b, CH213.S191)

Most of these documents and letters concern Harwood's properties, houses and insurance. Apart from some letters on railways, 1847-1848, and an undated address to a Grand Jury concerning crime and the necessity for court houses, Harwood's political career is documented solely by a few formal letters of appointment.

HENRY FAMILY, 1894-1980

John Stewart Henry (M.D.,C.M., Mcgill, 1925) was born in Salisbury, New Brunswick. In order to finance postdoctoral studies, he worked during the summer of 1927 at Murray Bay; among the summer visitors he treated were former U.S. President William Taft and a Boston physician, Vincent Bowditch. In 1925 he married Leila Murdoch, M.D. Her mother, Lysbeth Dawson Murdoch (1856-1946) a native of Macduff, Scotland, had a long career in teacher training in Great Britain. As a young woman she had wished to be a doctor, but could not obtain admission to any medical school (including McGill, although Principal Dawson was her cousin) on the grounds of her sex.

Barbara Mitchell (1777-1856) came from Forgue, Scotland to settle near her cousin James Dawson (father of Principal Dawson) in 1814. She remained only a short time before returning to Scotland.


Originals, Printed Materials, Photocopies, 1894, 1929-1930, ca 1970-1980, 3 cm (M.G. 3037)

These scattered Henry family papers, except for a few letters from William Taft and about Dr. Bowditch addressed to John Stewart Henry, 1929-30, reflect Leila Henry's interest in family history. They include genealogical charts, a biographical sketch of Lysbeth Dawson Murdoch, and a copy of a Banffshire newspaper of 1894 reprinting sections of Barbara Mitchell's diary of her return journey from Nova Scotia to Scotland.


A major-general in the British Army, Heriot fought in the War of 1812. In 1816 he founded the town of Drummondville.


Original, 1844-1845 (CH252.S229, CH69.S88)

Inventory of Heriot's estate, 1844 together with a certificate that Robert Nugent Watts and Robert Heriot are his executors, 1845.

HERTEL, FAMILLE, 1707-1808

Jacques Hertel naquit en Normandie et vint en Nouvelle France en 1626, probablement comme soldat. Il fut l'un des premiers à s'établir à Trois-Rivières et prit le nom d'Hertel de la Fresnière. Son fils François, un soldat, passa son titre au plus vieux de ses fils, mais les autres fils adoptèrent légalement un sobriquet, comme Hertel de Cournoyer, Hertel de Rouville, et Hertel de St François.


Originaux, 1707, 1756, 1766-1808, 2 cm (CH352.S312, CH57.S77, CH225.S203, CH234.S212, New MSS)

Copie de 1774 du baptistère de François Hertel originalement rédigé par Jean de Brébeuf en 1642 et documents portant sur la généalogie et les fiefs d'Hertel de Cournoyer (1802); brevet militaire à " Le Sr Hertel de St François" (1756) et acte de vente d'une propriété à Chambly par Jean-Baptiste Hertel de Rouville (1772). Parmi les lettres de la famille Hertel de Cournoyer, 1766-1808, se trouve une lettre de Simon Fraser relative à la succession de Blainville, 1794, et d'autres lettres sur l'état des finances familiales.


A lawyer, Frederick William Hibbard was a graduate of McGill and served as crown prosecutor in Montréal from 1907-1910. He was the president of the St. James Literary Society in 1903 and served as a lieutenant colonel in the militia.


Originals, 1890-1891, 3 cm (Unaccessioned)

The F.W. Hibbard papers consist of personal bills and a diary, 1890-1891.

HOWARD FAMILY, 1833-1923

Evatus S. Howard was a clergyman and lived in Belleville and Napanee, Ontario, and Lennoxville, Québec. E. Edwin Howard, his son, was a student at McGill.


Originals, Printed, 1868-1914, 2 cm (New MSS)

The collection includes E.S. Howard's diary for 1868 as well as some accounts and a diary for 1873. E.E. Howard's records include a cash book and a daily account of part of an European trip, 1897-1899.

JENYNS, THOMAS, 1671-1696

Thomas Jenyns of Hayes, Middlesex entered Clare College, Cambridge as a pensioner in 1688. He took his B.A. in 1692-1693, and his M.A. in 1696. He was a member of the Inner Temple as well.


Originals, 1692, 1735, 182 pp (Acc. 246)

This commonplace-book of Thomas Jenyns, 1692, includes notes on anatomy, physiology and chemistry lectures delivered by an unidentified Italian doctor as well as sermons in Jenyns' writing and that of another, 1735.


H. Wyatt Johnston was born in Montréal in 1887, the son of Wyatt Galt Johnston (M.D.,C.M., McGill, 1884) and his wife Elizabeth Turnor. After serving in the World War I, he earned a B.Sc. from McGill in 1921. Until the outbreak of World War II he directed the pulp and paper division of Forest Products Laboratories. He served with the Armoured Corps in the War, and in 1945 joined Southerland Refiners Co.


Originals and Printed Materials, ca 1899-1945, 8 cm (M.G. 4049)

The Johnston family papers comprise Wyatt Galt Johnston's laundry lists and grocery accounts, ca 1899, a letter to Elizabeth Johnston from her mother in Lennoxville, 1906; H. Wyatt Johnston's school reports, 1907-1911; and letters of sympathy and memorial cards sent to H. Wyatt Johnston on the death of his mother, 1943, and his aunt Mary Turnor, 1945. For papers of Mary Turnor, see M.G. 4051.


Eustache Lambert naquit vers 1619 en France. Il émigra en Nouvelle-France au début des années 1640 et gagna sa vie comme interprète, cultivateur et marchand de fourrures. En 1653, il acquit un lopin de terre à Pointe-Lavy. La famille Lambert-Dumont, comme ses descendants sont connus, fut les seigneurs des Mille-Iles, au nord-ouest de Montréal.


Originaux, 1744-1798, 3 cm (CH230.S208, CH229.S207, CH347.S307, CH212.S190)

Ce fonds comprend des papiers légaux, inventaires, contrats de vente, (1739-1838) et quelques correspondances familiales (1746, 1782, 1792-1798).

LAWFORD, ANNE, fl 1885

Anne Lawford was the mother of John Bowring Lawford, who left a substantial legacy to McGill University. She was the daughter of Charles Adamson Low, of the firm of Hamilton and Low at Hawkesbury and later resided in Montréal.


Original, 1885, 1 item (M.G. 3081)

This consists of one letter written by Anne Lawford to her cousin, Rev. Jacob Low of Brockville, 1885.


L'histoire de la famille Lefebvre de Bellefeuille à Québec remonte à l'arrivée en Nouvelle France, quelque temps avant 1669, de Thomas Lefebvre, né à Rouen en France en 1647. Il fut un voyageur et un interprète du Roi pour le langage Abenaki. In 1703, on concéda à Lefebvre le territoire de Koessanouskek, près de la frontière du Maine, comme seigneurie. Son fils, Jean-François, s'établit à Terre-Neuve au début du XVIIIième siècle mais partit aussitôt que les Anglais prirent contrôle en 1713. Lefebvre de Bellefeuille fut le seul seigneur à s'établir de façon permanente dans une Seigneurie de Gaspé durant le régime français. Lui et ses fils, Georges et François, eurent beaucoup de succès dans la pêche et le séchage du poisson même après la mort du père en 1744.


Originaux, 1753-1837, 3 cm (CH226.S204, CH227.S205, CH228.S206, CH224.S202, CH223.S201

Ce fonds comprend deux séries: correspondance personnelle et documents (1753-1836) telle que correspondance familiale, généalogie familiale et baptistères; et de la correspondance et des documents d'affaires (1753-1837) relatifs surtout à leur propriété. Quelques-unes des correspondances familiales portent sur des sujets politiques comme la Guerre de la Révolution américaine. Il y a également une série de lettres au rédacteur de "L'Ami du Peuple" par E.A. Lefebvre de Bellefeuille (1833-1834).


L'histoire de cette famille en Nouvelle France remonte à l'arrivée de Charles Lemoyne de Normandie en 1641. Au cours des trente années suivantes il participa à un grand nombre d'expéditions contre les Indiens, quelquefois agissant comme interprète. Lemoyne accumula de vastes étendues de terre, y compris les Seigneuries de Longueuil et de Chateauguay, que le Gouverneur Frontenac lui concéda en 1672 et 1673. Lorsqu'il mourut en 1685, il était l'un des Montréalais les plus riches de son époque. Charles a eu deux filles et dix fils. Parmi ces derniers, plusieurs perdirent la vie au cours de batailles, d'autres furent commandants dans diverses localités. L'un d'entre eux, Pierre Lemoyne d'Iberville, fut l'un des soldats les plus célèbres de la Nouvelle France.


Originaux, 1681-1829, 1 cm (CH238.S216, CH348.S308, CH198.S176, CH85.S108, CH85.S103, CH210.S188, CH445.RBR Box

La plupart des documents de ce fonds portent sur les propriétés de la famille Lemoyne (1727-1829), plus particulièrement les seigneuries de Soulanges et de Beloeil et les terres du Fort St-Jean. On y retrouve également un acte de vente d'une terre à Montréal et le contrat de mariage de Charles Lemoyne et Elizabeth Souart (1681). On y trouvera aussi des lettres du Colonel J.H. de Longueuil à monsieur Chartier de Lotbinière relatives à la ligne de démarcation entre le Haut et le Bas Canada (1806).

LIGHTHALL FAMILY, ca 1820-1984

The Lighthall family came to Canada from the United States about 1830. Douw K. Lighthall was registrar of Beauharnois. His son William, Francis (1827-1920), married Margaret Wright, grand daughter of Major James Wright (McIntyre). Her father's brother-in-law was Peter Rutherford, builder of Fort Lennox. By marriage the Lighthall's were allied to the Nye's who were among the claimants of the Christie estates including the Seigneury of Lacolle. W.F. Lighthall practiced as a notary in Montréal except for a brief period in Hamilton, Ontario. He had two sons William Douw and George Rutherford who was also a notary and a daughter Katherine (1861-1956).

W.D. Lighthall married Cybel Wilkes the grand daughter of the Reverend Dr. Henry Wilkes (1805-1886), a Congregationalist minister in Montréal. They had three children: W.S., Alice and Cybel. Cybel Wilkes Lighthall was one of the founders of the Canadian Guild of Handicrafts and Alice was to be equally active in this organization. W.S. fought with the British forces in Mesapotamie in World War I and Alice served as a V.A.D. in France. George Lighthall married Anne Dean, sister of Mrs. Charles Lyman. Their daughter Anne worked as a nurse in France and Belgium ca 1930-ca 1970. George was the founder of the Canadian branch of the Aerial League of the British Empire.


Originals, Copies and Photographs, ca 1820-ca 1984, 5 m (Large MSS)

Although some forty-two members of the Lighthall and allied families are represented in the collection, only those with significant bodies of papers are mentioned here.

The papers of Cybel Wilkes Lighthall include correspondence primarily from family members and the student work from her training as kindergarten teacher (1888-1890).

The papers of Alice Lighthall are primarily correspondence. Her wartime letters are to be found in the papers of her parents

(W.D.L. and C.W.L.), her aunt (Katherine Lighthall) and her grandfather (W.F.L.).

The papers of Anne Dean Lighthall contain some correspondence and two manuscrips: "Histoire de ma conversion" and "Oublier?-Jamais! La guerre telle que je l'ai vue en France" (1946).

The papers of W.F. Lighthall and Katherine Lighthall, although not extensive contain letters from the Reverend Charles Chiniquy. There are also war time letters from W.S. and Alice Lighthall. Katherine's papers also include a series of illustrated letters written to her nieces and nephew.

The papers of Henry Wilkes include manuscripts of some of his sermons. The papers of Peter Rutherford include legal and financial records.

For papers of William Douw Lighthall, See Section VIII, Culture, Literature and the Arts. Other for whom there is a significant material include W.S. Lighthall, George R. Lighthall, Christine Lighthall Henderson, Edward Ellice, A. and G. Robertson, D.K. Lighthall, Timothy Hoyle and Cornelia Schuyler Nye. There is as well genealogical information and family photographs. A list containing all the file titles is available.


Richard Lyman arrived in New England in 1631 from England. Succeeding generations of Lymans lived in Massachusetts and Vermont, as well as Montréal and Toronto. Many members of the family were involved in the wholesale and retail drug business in Upper and Lower Canada. Lewis Lyman (1772-1852) came to Montréal around the end of the 18th century, and entered into partnership with George Wadsworth under the name of Wadsworth & Lyman, wholesale and retail druggists, in 1800. Lewis Lyman's nephew, Henry, joined the firm and became one of Montréal's leading businessmen. The firm continued under various names until 1951. Its business records are described in Section V, Business and Economy of this inventory. In 1841 Henry Lyman married Mary Corse, daughter of Roswell Corse, of Northfield, Massachusetts Her brother Henry Corse became a successful Montréal businessman and contributed to the building of St. Lawrence Hall, a famous Montréal hotel, 1845-1847. He was also the president of the Montreal Board of Trade in 1878-1879. He died in 1914.


Originals, 1815-1891, 10 cm (CH404.002.9, CH258.S235, CH371.S331, CH275.Bd234)

The domestic finances of the Lyman family are documented by Mary Lyman's household account book, 1849, and by family accounts from 1885 to 1889. Correspondence between the Lyman and Corse families covers the period 1820-1827. The remainder of the papers consists of Corse family business letters, 1815-1853; estate documents, largely insurance policies, 1828-1856; Roswell Corse's cash book, 1842-1853; and documents concerning his buildings, 1846; a statement by Roswell Corse concerning his late brother Henry's bastards, 1853; papers of Henry Corse concerning his contribution to the construction of St. Lawrence Hall, 1845-1847; and documents connected with building supplies, 1845-1848, and R.and H. Corse and Lyman business correspondence, 1806, 1842-1846, 1852-1853. See also Section V, Business and Economy, Lymans Limited.


John Scrimger, D.D. was born in Galt, Ontario in 1849, and educated at University of Toronto (B.A. 1869, M.A. 1871) and Knox College (D.D., 1873). He came to Montréal to serve as pastor of Calvin Church and lecturer in the Presbyterian College, and in 1882 he joined the College's permanent staff. He was appointed Principal in 1904, and held this position until his death in 1915. His son was Francis Scrimger, M.D. and one of his daughters married Walter Lyman, of the pharmaceutical firm.


Originals, Copies, Printed Materials, and Photographs, ca 1880-ca 1948, 6 cm (M.G. 2019)

The Lyman-Scrimger papers largely consist of approximately 42 cm of photographs. Two albums contain family portraits, while two others assembled by Albert Clarence Lyman (B.A., 1878) and Walter E. Lyman (B.A., 1881) also include pictures of McGill classmates. The large collection of unbound photographs contain a number of views of Western Canada taken ca 1900, Montréal scenes, and travel snapshots taken in Europe (ca 1905-1910). Two scrapbooks compiled by the Rev. John Scrimger contain newsclippings, poems, cards, letters, photographs and memorabilia of a family or sentimental nature. The remainder of the papers consists of newsclippings, programmes and so forth related to members of the family, as well as a few scattered items of correspondence, probably collected by Mrs. Walter Lyman.

The papers of H. Wyatt Johnston (M.G. 4049) and Miss Mary Turnor (M.G. 4051) are described separately. See also Section IV, Medicine and Science, Francis Scrimger and Section V, Business and Economy, Lymans Ltd.

LYNCH, RICHARD, fl 1835-1844

Lynch was from Toronto and served in the army.


Originals, 1835-1844, 30 cm (CH414.002.9)

The collection includes family correspondence, 1835-1844 and testimonials to Lynch's character, 1839.


A lawyer and Conservative politician, John A. Macdonald served as Prime Minister of Canada from 1867 to 1873 and from 1878 to 1891.


Originals, 1865, 1878, 3 pp (M22084)

Two personal letters of John A. Macdonald dated 7 February 1865 and 12 August 1878.

MacKAY FAMILY, 1735-1903

This family was from Montréal, Prince Edward Island and Boston.


Originals, 1735-1903, 25 cm (Large MSS)

Family correspondence chiefly from 1763 to 1820 and family history documents.

McCORD FAMILY, 1750-1930

Originally from Ireland, John McCord (1711-1793) and his family emigrated to Québec in 1760s. One of his sons Thomas (1750-1824) established himself as a merchant in Montréal and in 1791 he leased the Nazareth fief from the nuns of Hôtel Dieu. He had two sons John Samuel (1801-1865) and William King (1803-1858). John Samuel McCord was a lawyer and a circuit judge in Montréal. He was also a lieutenant-colonel in the militia and the commander of the Montréal Volunteers during the Rebellions of 1837-1838. William King McCord served as a magistrate in Montréal and the superintendant and inspector of police in Québec City. John Samuel married Anne Ross, a daughter of David Ross, a lawyer (1770-1837) and grandaughter of Arthur Davidson, a judge, (1743-1807). Their son, David Ross McCord (1844-1930), a graduate of McGill University, was a lawyer and alderman in Montréal. He married Letitia Chambers (1841-1928). In 1919, David Ross McCord presented his extensive collection of artifacts to McGill University and in 1921 the McCord National Museum was opened to house the collection.


Originals, Printed, 1750-1930, 7.5 m (M21411)

The papers of Thomas McCord, John Samuel McCord and David Ross McCord form the bulk of the McCord Family papers. The papers chiefly concern the family's involvement in the business, legal, military and cultural affairs of Montréal.

The Thomas McCord papers contain extensive household and personal accounts, 1805-1824 and personal correspondence, 1795-1815.

The majority of the papers of John Samuel McCord consist of judicial record books, 1844-1857 and legal papers, including legal documents, 1823-1844, notebooks, n.d. and a letterbook, 1825-1828. In addition, there are personal journals and notebooks, 1847-1860 and undated household account books. The records of the militia units under his command include paylists, general orders, sicklists, arrest orders and general correspondence, 1836-1839. Also included is a minute book of the Provincial Grand Lodge of Free Masons for the District of Montréal and William Henry (Sorel), 1824-1829.

The David Ross McCord papers primarily reflect his activities as a collector. There are letterbooks, 1870-1887 and correspondence, 1871-1927, mainly dealing with the acquisition of materials for his collection but also concern his law practice, real estate transactions and news of his family. As well, there are daily journals, 1870-1878 and undated notes and notebooks concerning his interest in history and the genealogy of the McCord family.

Other records include the business and personal correspondence, 1768-1807, as well as the personal and household accounts, 1786-1796, of Arthur Davidson. The David Ross papers primarily consist of correspondence with Arthur Davidson concerning legal, judicial and political matters, 1795-1815. The records of the Nazareth fief include correspondence, notarial acts, account books and rent notes, 1792-1890. There is a letterbook, 1845-1849, of William King McCord as Superintendent and Inspector of Police in Québec City while the papers of Letitia Chambers McsCord consist of personal correspondence, 1877-ca 1920 and manuscript as well as printed poems, 1900-1901, n.d.

McGILL, PETER, 1789-1860

Peter McGill was born in Wigtonshire, Scotland, the son of John McCutcheon and Mary McGill. His uncle, John McGill, who was Receiver General of Upper Canada from 1813 to 1822, bequeathed his large estate to Peter on condition that he assume the name McGill, which he did. He came to Canada in 1809 to become a partner of the Montréal firm of Parker, Gerrard, Ogilvie and Co. Later, he founded his own mercantile firm, Peter McGill and Co. In 1819 McGill became a director of the Bank of Montreal. He served as its president from 1834 to 1860. He was the first chairman of the first railway company established in Canada, the St. Lawrence and Champlain, from 1834 until 1838. McGill was mayor of Montréal from 1840 to 1842. He held a seat in the Legislative Council of Lower Canada, 1832-1838. He was member of the Special Council of Lower Canada (1838-1841) and of the Legislative Council of the United Provinces, 1841 to 1860 where he served as Speaker from 1847 to 1848.


Originals, 1840-1866, 8 cm (CH377.S337, CH441.RBR.Box, CH297.S257)

These documents concern property transactions of Peter McGill, 1840-1866 and his estate, 1859-1860.


The son of Donald McGillivray and Anne McTavish (the sister of North West Company magnate Simon McTavish), Simon McGillivray (1783- 1840) was the partner and heir of his wealthy uncle. McGillivray entered the London firm of McGillivray, Fraser and Co. in 1805, and 1813 became a partner in the Montréal-based McTavish, McGillivrays and Co. He played a leading role in the merger of the Hudson's Bay and North-West Companies in 1821, but his business affairs did not prosper thereafter and in 1825 his firm went bankrupt. From 1830 to 1835, he worked as a commissioner for the United States Silver Mining Co., organizing their operations in Mexico. In 1835, he returned to London, where he became one of the proprietors of the Morning Chronicle and married Anne, daughter of Sir John Stanhope, one of his co-proprietors. He was survived by his widow and two daughters, Anne and Mary.


Originals, 1835-1869, 4 cm (M20922)

The McGillivray papers concern the private lives of the family and contain the correspondence of Anne Easthope McGillivray, 1841-1846; her daughters Anne, 1859-1864 and Mary 1859-1869; and a diary of her sister, Louisa Easthope, 1835-1840.

McLENNAN FAMILY, 1849-1940

The McLennan Family of Loretteville and Montréal arrived in Canada in 1802 from Scotland. Hugh Stewart McLennan was a Montréal businessman, active in the grain trade for many years. He founded the McLennan travelling libraries to provide library facilities to western Canada in cooperation with clergy and teachers. Of his thirteen children, two of the better-known were William, a notary and writer and Isabella, a benefactor of McGill University.


Originals, 1849-1940, 3.5 cm (CH98.S116, CM30.Bd238)

Family correspondence and business papers covering the period 1849-1940 include Hugh McLennan's notebook of extracts from family letters, 1883-1889.

McLENNAN, FRANCIS, 1857-1940

A lawyer, Francis McLennan was one of the founders of the McLennan Travelling Libraries. He was a Governor's Fellow from 1905 to 1918 and a Governor of McGill University from 1917 to 1931.


Original, 1899, 1 item (M.G. 3049)

Letter from former McGill Principal J.W. Dawson to Francis McLennan thanking McLennan for the fruit which he had sent him, 1899.

MOLSON FAMILY, 1807-1910

The first member of the Molson family to come to Canada from England was John Molson who established a brewery in Montréal in 1786. The second son of John Molson, Thomas (1791-1863) married his cousin, Martha Molson and joined the family business in 1816. Aside from a decade spent in Kingston, 1824-1834, Thomas was involved in a series of family oriented partnerships in Montréal. These partnerships, which revolved around the brewing and distilling business eventually included his sons, John Henry Robinson, William Markland and John Thomas (1837-1910). Educated at Montreal High School, John Thomas joined the family's business concern in 1861. From 1868 to 1880 he spent his time travelling in Europe, yachting and fishing. He returned to the firm in 1880 and continued his association until his death in 1910. John Thomas married twice: his first wife was Lillias Savage (1839-1866) and his second wife was Jane (Jennie) Baker Butler (1850-1926) of Waterloo, Québec. The eldest son of Jennie and John Thomas was Herbert Molson (b.1875) who later served as a governor of McGill University.


Originals, ca 1807-1910, 25 cm (M21228)

The Molson papers deal with business, domestic, military and leisure activities. The papers of John Thomas Molson, which represent the bulk of the collection, mainly reflect his interest in travel and leisure activities. His papers include passports, 1864-1865; notes on travel, n.d., travel diaries, 1855, 1874, and a pocket notebook containing lists of provisions for hunting and fishing expeditions, 1873. There are also materials associated with his yacht Nooya such as correspondence with the captain on the hiring of staff, 1872; accounts and receipts, 1870-1874; invitations to friends for cruises, 1874-1875, n.d.; and a description of a trip from Liverpool to Moville, 1870. His business papers include anotebook with figures concerning brewery operations, 1859-1860; his involvement in the militia is reflected by a list of the men in the No. 2 Co. Montreal Light Infantry, 1862. His personal correspondence with family, friends and business associates is concerned with hunting trips, the militia, investments and political matters 1863-1890. The papers of his wife, Jane (Jennie) reflect their domestic and social life and include servants' wage books 1870-1892 and a calling book, ca 1900.

The Thomas Molson papers consist of a travel diary, 1815-1816; family correspondence, 1816-1848; technical notes and diary on his brewing and distilling business in Montréal and Kingston, 1820-1832; and receipts for installments paid on shares for the banking firm of Viger DeWitt and Co., 1837, 1841. The Martha Molson papers contain receipts and bills which document personal and household expenditures, 1816-1841. The papers of Herbert Molson, include a phrenological chart, 1878 and a family letter, 1880, and documents related to the Molson family businesses including bills of lading, 1820; bills for beer, 1807; and specifications for a flywheel, engine repairs, 1831 and for a kiln, 1836. See also Section V. Business and Economy, Saint Lawrence Steamboat Co.


George Jehoshaphat Mountain was born in England and came to Canada at the age of four, when his father, Jacob Mountain, was appointed Anglican Bishop of Québec. Educated in Québec, England and Trinity College, Cambridge, he entered the Church and became rector of Québec in 1817. In 1821 he became Archdeacon, and in 1824 he was elected as McGill University's first Principal. After the University's legal status had been settled in 1835, Mountain resigned his principalship. In 1836 he became suffragan Bishop of Québec with the title of Bishop of Montréal, a title he retained even after he became Bishop of Québec in 1837. Mountain's ties with McGill remained close, for he was President of the Royal Institution for the Advancement of Learning and ex officio a Governor. An ardent traveller, Mountain made several long journeys in Canada, including an expedition in 1844 to the Red River. The poems he wrote in the course of this voyage were published in 1846 as Song of the Wilderness.


Originals, ca 1825-1851, 6 cm (M.G. 3044)

The Mountain family papers consist of two albums. The first contains watercolours and sketches (probably by the daughters of Bishop Mountain, though only a few are identified) of scenes in Québec and Europe, as well as flowers and birds, and copies of Indian designs. There are also prints showing Swiss folk costumes. The second album is entitled 'Family Poems', and many are by Mountain. These are largely moral and lyrical relections, with some occasional verse and translations.

NELSON FAMILY, 1765-1874

William Nelson (1750-1834), a naval officer, came to Québec from England in 1781. He married Jane Dies in 1785 and they had ten children including Alpherey (1789-1876) and the prominent Patriote leaders, Robert (1794-1873) and Wolfred (1791-1863). Alphery Nelson married Maria Salt (1800-1848) of Compton, Québec in 1819 and one of their sons, William Nelson (1820-1862) married his cousin Sarah Holt Salt (1823-1913) in 1844.


Originals, Copies, 1765-1874, 2 cm (Unaccessioned)

The bulk of the Nelson family collection provides genealogical information on the Nelson-Salt families and includes indentures, 1765,1805, a passport, 1874 and a certificate of baptism, 1815. The rest of the collection consists of correspondence from family members to William Nelson in Québec and London, concerning settlement of estates and other family matters 1776-1819; and a letter to Wolfred Nelson from the secretary of McGill College appointing him as a fellow, 1854.

PARMELLE, LEA E., fl 1828-ca 1872

Parmelle was a farmer from the Eastern Townships, Québec.


Typescript, ca 1872, 1 cm (CH366.S326)

This updated typescript reproduces an original text written ca 1872 dealing with life in the Eastern Townships of Québec entitled "Memoirs of life in Canada, 1828-1872".


W.S. Paterson of Montréal and Lac Ouimet, Québec, the maternal grandfather of Dorothy and William Bruce Ross (see Section II. McGill Students) was born in Scotland, and came to Canada with his family in 1842. In 1871 he made a journey to the southern United States. He also travelled in Cuba.


Originals, n.d. and 1871, 6 cm (M.G. 4048)

Paterson's trip to battlefields of the American Civil War is described in a diary. A second diary, as well as a manuscript essay 'sketches from Cuba', relates his adventures on a voyage to Cuba.

PATTON FAMILY, 1816-1884

This family lived in Montréal.


Originals, 1816-1884, 45 cm (Large MSS)

Much of the collection is family correspondence and papers relating to the hardware business of Thomas D. Patton, 1816-1884. There are also papers and military notebooks of Sergeant George Patton, 1823-1856 and letters concerning Douglas Church and the St. Lawrence Sunday School, Montréal, 1853-1854.


Caroline Henrietta Pelton, a native of Montréal, was a graduate of the McGill Normal School in 1860.


Originals, Printed and Photographs, 1842-1905, 8 cm (M.G. 2020)

Most of this collection consists of the selected incoming personal correspondence of Caroline H. Pelton, 1846-1873, and some correspondence of members of her family, 1842-1905. Also included are two diplomas awarded to Caroline Pelton from the McGill Normal School, 1860 and 1861 and family photographs. There are also selected financial records of St. George's Church, Montréal, 1882-1885.


John Porteous was a clerk of the peace in Montréal.


Original, 1781, 1 p (M17609)

Deposition concerning a slave.

PORTER, JANE, fl 1823-1849


Originals, 1823-1849, 8 cm (M208.Bd208)

This collection consists of 90 letters most of which were written to Sir John Philippart and to Mr. George Virtue.

REED FAMILY, 1815-1944

George D. Reed was born in Surrey, England but his son, Hayter Reed (b.1849) was a native of Canada. In 1871 Hayter went to Manitoba as a militia officer and in 1872 was admitted to the bar of the province. In 1881 he entered the federal civil service as an Indian agent and held several positions within the Department of Indian Affairs including Commissioner of Indian Affairs, 1880-1897. In 1897 he retired from the federal civil service and later became Superintendent of the C.P.R. hotels. He married twice, the first time to Georgina Ponton, d.1889 and for the second time in 1894 to Kate, the eldest daughter of the Hon. John D. Armour, the Chief Justice of Ontario and Elizabeth Armour. Previously, Kate Armour had been married to Grosvenor Lowry (d.1893). Hayter and Kate Reed had at least one son, Gordon (n.d.) a Montréal architect.


Originals, 1815-1944, 80 cm (M21227)

The Reed family papers are primarily those of Kate Armour Lowry Reed and are concerned with her social and family life. They include correspondence from Sir Wilfrid Laurier, the Earl and Countess of Aberdeen and William C. Van Horne, 1880-1921 and diaries, 1870-1927. Other materials include the incoming correspondence of Hayter Reed with several official letters dealing with his activities as a civil servant, 1883-1927; George D. Reed, 1815-1847; the Lowry family, 1789-1892; John D. Armour, 1877; Gordon Reed and a daybook of Elizabeth Armour, 1876-1880.


The Rhodes family of Yorkshire, England and Bergerville (Sillery) Québec, included Col. Godfrey Rhodes of the 94th Regiment and the 60th Rifles (in the Crimea); Lieut. Col. William Rhodes, 68th Light Infantry, and minister of Agriculture for Québec; and Catherine (Rhodes) Tudor Hart, wife of the artist Percyval Tudor Hart.


Originals, 1774-1975, 6.7 m (Large MSS)

These extensive papers include business and personal correspondence from the Rhodes Family, ca 1820-1970; business and personal papers from the Tudor Hart Family, 1920-1950; Col. Godfrey Rhodes' Crimean military papers, ca 1850-1858; diaries and notebooks of members of the Rhodes Family, 1774-1970; genealogies; drawings and sketches; and photographs of family members and residences.

RHYNAS, JOHN, 1822-1891

John Rhynas was a commission merchant in Montréal.


Originals, 1870-1885, 5 cm (Unaccessioned)

The papers consist of a diary and scrapbook, 1870-1885, concerning business and family matters.


Amy Redpath, the second wife of Sir Thomas George Roddick, was born in Montréal. She was the daughter of John Redpath, the sugar manufacturer, and niece of Peter Redpath. A poet and writer, she was also a great benefactor of McGill University, particularly through the Peter Whiteford Redpath and Jocelyn Clifford Redpath Library Fund (1911), and her gift, in memory of her husband, of the Roddick Gates (1924).


Originals, 1896-1926, 10 cm (Large MSS)

Diaries, 1896-1926.

ROSS FAMILY, 1878-1938

Robert Baldwin Ross and his wife Kate Elizabeth Paterson were descended from Scottish families. All four of their children were McGill graduates: W. Bruce Ross, Douglas Allen Ross (B.Sc. 1929, M.Sc. 1931, Ph.D. 1934), Dorothy Jean Ross and Alison Ross (B.A. 1938).


Printed Materials and Photogaphs, ca 1878-1938, 20 cm (M.G. 2021)

Eight photograph albums, apparently stemming from Mrs Ross's branch of the family, show family and domestic scenes, as well as some views of Jamaica, Britain and Europe, taken between 1865 and 1922. Three scrapbooks of magazine stories for children, poems, and household hints were assembled in the last quarter of the 19th century. Printed news clippings, convocation programmes and the like document the scholastic achievements of the four Ross children. For papers of W. Bruce Ross and Dorothy Jean Ross, see Section II, McGill Students.



Originals, 1809-1821, 10 pp

This account book, possibly of Canadian origin, is a record of one boy's schooling expenses, 1809-1821.


William Sheppard was born at Québec in 1783. He made a fortune in the timber trade. He was a member of the Executive Council of Lower Canada from 1837 to 1841. Sheppard contributed articles on Canadian botany to the Transactions of the Literary and Historical Society of Quebec and to the Annals of the Botanical Society of Canada.


Originals, 1841-1861, .5 cm (CH72.S90)

These papers consist of Sheppard's letters to his sister, Margaret, in England, 1841-1861, and a few incoming letters from family and friends including one from his son William about the Prince of Wales' visit in 1860.

The Stephens family originated in Jamaica, Vermont. Harrison Stephens, the son of Samuel and Beulah Howard Stephens, began a tanning business which he later moved to Québec. By 1830, Harrison had moved to Montréal, where he made a considerable fortune as a retail merchant. He had three sons: Romeo, George Washington and Sheldon Samuel, all of whom were large landowners. George Washington's son also named George Washington Stephens (1866-1942) was educated at McGill, and at universities in France, Germany and Switzerland. Inheriting a large estate from his father, he became an investment and real estate broker. In 1923, Stephens was named to the governing commission of the Saar in Germany and was president of the Saarland from 1924 to 1926. Sheldon Samuel Stephens married Polish-born Felice de Kalisz. They had two sons, Sheldon (d.1894), and Lawrence de Kalisz Stephens (d.1916 in action), and through Lawrence, two grandchildren. Felice (1853-1953) managed her considerable business interests after her husband's death, and assisted Polish refugees after World War II.


Originals, Copies, Printed Materials and Photographs, 1828-1953, 5 m (Unaccessioned)

The Stephens family papers although primarily personal and domestic also contain business and political papers. The largest part of this collection consists of the papers of Sheldon Samuel Stephens and of his wife, Felice de Kalisz. The personal correspondence of Sheldon Samuel covers the period 1860-1921, and that of Felice de Kalisz including material on Poland and in Polish, 1880-1953. Their two sons are represented by Sheldon Harrison's family correspondence, 1885-1893 and a diary, 1892-1893, and Lawrence de Kalisz's correspondence, 1892-1915. As well, there are bank books, bills and receipts recording domestic finances, 1865-1952; and cash books, ledgers, leases, contracts and correspondence concerning real estate and other business activities, 1880-1953.

The papers of Harrison Stephens include family correspondence, 1844-1880 and a few business papers for the same period. There is also some personal correspondence of his mother Beulah Harrison Stephens, 1828-1858 and some undated correspondence of his brother Romeo. His son George Washington is represented by family correspondence, and deeds of sale, petitions and contracts concerning real estate, 1867-1904. Finally, the papers of his grandson George Washington Jr. contain personal correspondence, 1928-1937, diaries, 1930-1938 and a scrapbook of newsclippings and correspondence from politicians and diplomats, 1923-1926. Papers of George Washington Stephens will be found under his name in SECTION VII, POLITICS AND GOVERNMENT.

STONE FAMILY, 1787-1815

The Stone family were United Empire Loyalists who settled at Gananoque, Ontario, around 1790. Captain Joel Stone received a grant of 700 acres of land on the west side of the Gananoque River and, took possession in 1791. Within a few years he had built a home, had a grist mill and saw-mill in operation, as well as a general store. As early as 1793, Stone built a schooner, the "Leeds Trader", which was for many years in use on the river and on Lake Ontario. When war broke out in 1812, Stone took charge of the military defences of the Gananoque district.


Originals, 1787-1815, 1.5 cm (CH79.S97)

This material consists of two family letters of 1794; some militia regimental returns of 1815; and business documents of Joel Stone, 1787-1815.


Lydia Trenholme received her diploma from the McGill Normal School in 1852. In 1859 she married J.K. Ward, later Mayor of Côte St. Antoine from 1875 to 1883.


Originals and Printed Materials, 1852, ca 1907, 2 items (M.G. 3066)

These papers comprise Lydia Trenholme's Normal School diploma, and a manuscript map of Senneville (ca 1907) showing land-holdings. The lakeshore property marked 'JKW' probably belonged to J.K. Ward.

TRENT FAMILY, 1805-1909

Born in England, George Norris Trent (1790-1857) joined the British navy in 1805 and rose to the rank of lieutenant. In 1821 he married Dorothy Bennington and in 1823 he became a landowner on the Isle of Ely, Cambridgeshire. Their two children, Maria Dorothy (1824-ca 1900) and Henry (1826-1906) were born in England. In 1836 the family immigrated to Canada and settled on a farm near Drummondville in the Eastern Townships of Lower Canada where Trent had a large house constructed. In addition to his main farm of over 200 acres, he acquired 400 acres of land in the Township of Acton. Trent kept journals recording the messages which he received from his "mysterious voices". He returned to England in 1854 accompanied by his son, Henry and died in 1857, leaving his properties in the Eastern Townships and in England to his children, Maria and Henry. Maria, who had been educated at Miss Easton's school in Montréal, married William Strein Robins (d.1863), in 1852. They had at least one child, a son Robin Norris Robins (b. 1858), who was educated at Bishop's College and served as an accountant, treasurer or manager for a variety of companies in the Sherbrooke area. Henry Trent, who inherited the family farm and house near Drummondville, was educated at Nicolet College. He had returned to England with his father in 1854 and in 1862 journeyed to Vancouver Island in the hope of discovering gold. Eventually, he settled down on the family farm and later ran a general store near Drummondville. Henry married Elisa Caya and they had ten children, including Norris who was killed in the First World War.


Originals, 1805-1909, 1 m (Unaccessioned)

The majority of the Trent family papers concern the personal and domestic lives of the family but there are also papers dealing with their business activities. The George Norris Trent papers concern his private and domestic life but also includes papers dealing with his business activities and naval career. The papers consist of correspondence from admiralty officials, 1811-1853, and family members, 1850-1852; personal journals concerning the "mysterious" voices, 1830-1835; household bills, 1817-1823; household account books, 1838-1857, including one for servants' wages, 1838-1842; journals, detailing construction costs for his house, 1838-1839; rent account books, 1821-1830, 1855; and journals concerning farm expenses, 1840-1855.

The Maria Trent Robins papers concern her personal life and consist of family correspondence, 1837-1874 and some business correspondence concerning her property in England, 1860-1870.

The majority of the Henry Trent papers deal with his economic activities. The papers contain journals of his trip to the gold fields, 1862-1863, and on his daily activities on the farm, 1865-1868; an account book from his general store, 1883; and business correspondence, concerning his property in England, 1859-1872. Also included is family correspondence, 1839-1882, and a daily journal which records his recreational and social activities, 1844-1854.

The Norris Trent papers contain family correspondence, mainly from his aunt Maria Trent Robins, ca 1900-1909.

TURNOR, MARY MINTA, ca 1858-1945

Mary Minta Turnor was the sister of Elizabeth (Mrs. Wyatt Galt) Johnston. She was raised in Lennoxville, but lived most of her life with her sister in Montréal.


Orignals and Photographs, 1872-1937, 4 cm (M.G. 4051)

Turnor's correspondence is largely with members of her family in the Eastern Townships on domestic news. A few photographs of houses and pets, as well as some recipes, are also included.

WARD FAMILY, 1850-1885


Originals, 1850-1885, 2 cm (M182.Bd175)

This collection consists of an account book of members of the family of Lt.Gen. William Cuthbert Ward, R.E., kept partly by Captain W.C. Ward of the 42nd Royal Highlanders, 1850-1885.

WARDEN FAMILY, 1905-1908

Robert Harvey Warden (1841-1905) was born in Dundee, Scotland, and came to Canada as a young man. He studied theology at Knox College, and served as a Presbyterian pastor in Bothwell, Ontario. In 1874 he was recalled to Knox College to assist in raising funds for a new building. His proven financial and administrative abilities won him the post of agent of the Presbyterian College in Montréal in 1878; at the same time he was treasurer of the French Evangelization Fund, and active in many other Presbyterian organizations. In 1897 he was appointed agent of the Western Section of the Presbyterian Church, and served as Moderator in 1901.


Originals and Printed Materials, 1905-1908, 12 cm (M.G. 2022)

Most of this material concerns the last illness and death of Robert Harvey Warden, and comprises letters of sympathy to himself and his wife, and following his death, condolences to his wife and children. The letters are from personal friends as well as from Presbyterian bodies. Printed obituaries are also included. Letters of condolence to Mrs Warden on the death of her daughter Lila Dunton are likewise accompanied by newspaper obituaries, 1908.


Gustavus William Wicksteed was born in Liverpool, England, and came to Canada in 1821. He was called to the bar of Lower Canada and was named Queen's Counsel in 1854. Wicksteed was appointed assistant law clerk to the Legislative Assembly of Lower Canada in 1828 and in 1838 law clerk to the Special Council of the Province. He also became law clerk of the Legislative Assembly of the United Provinces in 1841 and law clerk to the Canadian House of Commons in 1867. In 1887 Wicksteed retired and he died in Ottawa in 1898. He was also a poet and published Waifs in verse (Montréal, 1878). As well, he published several indexes to the statutes of Canada.


Original, 1825-1841, 5 cm (CH208.S186, New MSS)

This material consists of a journal kept at St. Giles de Beaurivage.



Originals, 1862-1910, 1.8 m (Large MSS)

Diaries with gaps for the years 1868 to 1910. Also included are a diary of a trip to Scotland and England in 1862 and a scrapbook which covers the years 1863-1869 as well as a catalogue of Wicksteed's library.

WOLLEY, JANE (JAMES?), fl 1848-1855


Originals, 1848-1855, 3 cm (M124.Bd118)

This diary written at Rome, 1848-1855, is in English, French and Italian.


Notable members of the Worthington family of Sherbrooke, Québec were Edward Dragge Worthington (1820-1895) and his son, Arthur Norreys Worthington (1863-1912). Edward Dragge Worthington was a leading surgeon in the Eastern Townships, Québec and the first surgeon in Canada to perform a major operation using ether as an anaesthetic. He served as a staff assistant surgeon in the British army; and in the Québec regiment of Volunteer Light Infantry in 1837-1838 in the 53rd Battalion. He was a member of the Canadian Medical Association and a governor of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Quebec. Arthur Norreys Worthington graduated from McGill in Medicine in 1886. He practiced surgery in Sherbrooke and eventually became the mayor of Sherbrooke, 1901-1902, and was elected to the House of Commons in 1906. He was an officer in the volunteer movement and served with the field hospital during the Northwest Rebellion, 1885. In 1900-1902 he served with the Royal Canadian Artillery in South Africa.


Originals and Transcripts, ca 1833-1944 (Acc. 479)

A partial inventory of this collection reveals that it is largely composed of the scattered personal papers of the members of the Worthington Family, ca 1833-1944. They represent primarily Edward Dragge Worthington and Arthur Norreys Worthington. It also includes a few items pertaining to Edward Bruen Worthington and Asheton N. Worthington. It includes personal, business and professional correspondence; certificates, diplomas, tests, maps, sketchbooks, loose ledger sheets, testimonials, photographs and newspaper clippings. The greater part of the collection consists of the papers of Edward Dragge Worthington including correspondence related to his business affairs, medical career and family matters, 1840-1883; medical certificates and diplomas, 1840-1847; two sketchbooks, 1840?, with caricatures of John Goodsir, Alexander Munro, Robert Knox and William Robertson; testimonials, 1865, 1867; a résumé of his education covering 1833-1843; newspaper clippings and photographs. The papers of Arthur Norreys Worthington are primarily correspondence describing his military activities in South Africa, 1900.