SPECIAL COLLECTION: HANNIBAL, H.M.S., 1797-1800
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1797-1800, 3.5 cm (H74.Bd53)
The log or "continuation of proceedings" of the H.M.S. Hannibal was maintained by its commander, E.J. Smith.
SPECIAL COLLECTION: RAILWAY JOURNAL, 1886
McCORD MUSEUM
Original, 1886, 2.5 cm (M14266)
An anonymous journal of a trip on the Canadian Pacific Railway from Toronto, Ont. to Victoria, B.C. and from Victoria, B.C. to Calgary, Alta., 25 August to 15 September, 1886 contains descriptions of the countryside, settled areas including Vancouver and Victoria and depicts the travelling conditions faced by railroad passengers.
ANONYMOUS: LAKE ATHABASKA, 1828
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, ca 1828, 54 pp (CH22.S58)
This description of Lake Athabaska contains a covering note: "Tiré je crois du journal d'Alex. Mackenzie", to which the historian L.R. Masson has added: 'Non'.
BACK, GEORGE, ADMIRAL SIR, 1796-1878
A native of England, George Back joined the Royal Navy in 1808. By 1821, he had become a lieutenant and was promoted to the rank of commander in 1825. An explorer, and an artist, he sailed with John Franklin during two of the latter's Arctic expeditions, (1819-1822) and (1825-1827). From 1833 to 1835, he commanded his own Arctic expedition to search for the lost explorer, Sir John Ross and in 1836, he made further explorations of the Arctic coastline. He published two books on his explorations and was knighted in 1839. Later, he advised the British Admiralty on search expeditions for John Franklin. In 1863 Back became a vice-admiral and in 1876 was made an admiral.
McCORD MUSEUM
Originals, Copies, Drawings, 1819-1835, 2.5 cm (M22062)
The George Back papers document his activities as an arctic explorer and artist. Two journals detail the weather conditions, geography and progress of the 1819 expedition and provide descriptions of native peoples, 1819-1822. A letterbook contains copies of letters sent to government officials and Hudson's Bay Company employees concerning the 1833-1834 expedition. In addition, there are notes taken by Back on arctic modes of transportation, clothing and food, n.d. His work as artist is reflected by drawings and watercolours which appear in his "Observations on the Aurora Borealis", 1833-1835.
BELLEROPHON, H.M.S., 1840-1850
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1840-1850, 1.5 cm (H70.Bd37 folio)
This is a log of H.M.S. Bellerophon kept during a voyage from Spithead to Italy and the Aegean.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, ca 1831, 5 cm (M170.Bd163)
"Notes géographiques et géologiques; notes pour voyage".
BRIDGE, SAMUEL SOUTHBY, fl. 1806-1819)
Samuel Southby Bridge was an auctioneer in Montréal and in 1819 lived at 8 St. Paul St.
McCORD MUSEUM
Copy, 1809-1810, 2.5 cm (M13630)
The Bridge papers consist of a transcript of a journal of Samuel Southby Bridge which deals with his travels from Portsmouth to Montréal, May to June, 1809, to New York via Lake Champlain, other trips in the area of Montréal and Québec, 1809-1810 and the business and social life of Lower Canada with particular emphasis on Montréal, 1809-1810. The original of the journal is in the Public Archives of Canada.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1882, 799 pp (M179.Bd172)
This is a dictionnary and a grammar of the language used by the inhabitants of the Duke of York Island, New Britain Group, Territory of New Guinea.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1804-1805, 76 pp (CH187.S167a, CH188.S168)
Cameron's papers comprise a journal kept in the Nipigon region from July 1804 to May 1805, together with a separate volume of extracts from the 1804 journal.
CORMACK, WILLIAM EPPES, 1796-1868
Born in St. John's, Newfoundland, William Eppes Cormack was educated in Scotland at the universities of Glasgow and Edinburgh where he developed his interest in natural history. Upon his return to Newfoundland in the early 1820s Cormack decided to explore the interior in order to ascertain the geography, promote colonization and establish contact with Indians. He made two exploratory journeys, one in 1822 and the other in 1827. Later, he became involved in business ventures in Prince Edward Island, Australia, New Zealand and California before finally settling in British Columbia.
McCORD MUSEUM
Originals, 1822, 1 cm (M4511)
The journal of Cormack's 1822 exploration of Newfoundland contains descriptions of the terrain, flora and fauna, Indians, French and English settlements and a weather chart for the period 4 September to 31 October.
Born in England, R.H.S. Cresswell came to Canada in 1889. After working in the Sarnia area in the oil fields and on the railroads, he became a merchant. In 1898, Cresswell and some of his friends decided to go to the Klondike gold fields. They travelled by train from Hamilton to Edmonton and then overland, via the Athabasca, MacKenzie and Peel Rivers, to Dawson City. Although Cresswell did not find a large amount of gold, he did establish a wholesale liquor and cigar business. In 1904 he left the Yukon for Vancouver, where he spent the rest of his life.
McCORD MUSEUM
Originals, Copies, 1898-1899, 7 cm (M21407, M21407.1, M21408)
R.H.S. Cresswell's papers concern his overland trek to the Klondike. His diary provides a daily account of his journey with observations on topography, weather, methods of transportation used, food, lodging, hunting, fishing and his companions, 1898-1899.
DEASE, PETER WARREN, 1788-1863
Born at Michilimackinac, Peter Warren Dease was a fur trader and explorer. He became a chief trader for the Hudson's Bay Company in 1821 and served as commissariat officer for John Franklin's Arctic expedition of 1826-1827. In 1836, Dease was commissioned by George Simpson of the Hudson's Bay Company to explore and survey the northern shores of the continent from the western limits reached by Franklin in 1826 to Point Barrow. The journey was completed by 1839. Dease retired from the fur trade in 1843 and settled near Montréal.
McCORD MUSEUM
Original, 1836-1839, 3 cm (M2714)
The journal of Peter Warren Dease's northern explorations covers July 1836-October 1839.
DuBoille était un chanoine de la Maison des Augustines d'Eaucourt dans le diocèse d'Arras.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1777, 3.5 cm (M185.Bd178)
Manuscrit du Journal d'un voyage d'Italie de Duboille.
Henry Ellis was born in London and educated at Oxford (B.C.L. 1802). While an undergraduate he was initiated into library work through an appointment as assistant at the Bodleian (1798). In 1800 he transferred to the British Museum, where in 1805 he became Keeper of printed books, and in 1812 Keeper of manuscripts. Under his direction, an organized catalogue of the British Museum library was produced in 1819. Ellis also used the resources of the Museum to produce a number of editions and studies of early texts, including an edition of Dugdale's Monasticon Anglicanum. He was named principal librarian of the British Museum in 1827, but proved a poor administrator, with the result that a Parliamentary commission (1835-1836) reorganized the Museum to give effective administrative control to the Secretary, Anthony Panizzi. Ellis retired in 1856.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1828, 3 cm (M149.Bd143)
Ellis's 'Notes of my journey to France in 1828' is illustrated with engravings and plans.
FABRE, EDOUARD-RAYMOND, 1799-1854
Fabre était un libraire montréalais.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1843, 2 cm (New MSS)
Notes d'un voyage à Paris.
James Forbes was born in London and went to Bombay in 1765 as a writer for the East India Company. He remained there until 1784. A good draughtsman and a keen observer, he filled 52,000 manuscript pages with notes on the natural history, archaeology, and religious and social life of India; these were later digested into his Oriental Memoirs, published between 1813 and 1815. After his return to England he married Rose Gaylard (1788), and spent considerable time travelling on the Continent.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1796-1797, 17 cm (M264.Bd276-280)
This fair copy of Forbes' five volumes of notes on his tour of Germany, Italy, and Switzerland also contains some loose drafts and drawings.
Born in England, John Franklin joined the British navy in 1800. He led his first Arctic expedition in 1819 and a second in 1825 to explore the Arctic coastline of North America. In 1829, he was knighted for his exploits. From 1836 to 1843, he was the lieutenant governor of Van Dieman's Land in Australia. In 1845 he returned, once again, to explore the Arctic regions but his ships became trapped in the ice and both he and his men perished. Although numerous expeditions were sent to find him, Franklin's fate was only established in 1859.
McCORD MUSEUM
Original, Copies, 1825-1869, 5 cm (M22063)
The bulk of the Sir John Franklin collection is concerned with his arctic expeditions of 1819 and 1825 and consists of outgoing correspondence with Sir Joseph Banks, 1818, and with Hudson Bay Company employee Robert McVicar, 1824-1825. There is also family correspondence, 1828, 1845, and an official letter from Franklin as governor of Van Dieman's Land, concerning a seat on the Legislative Council, 1847.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1800, 2 cm (CH7.S43)
This diary documents a trip from Maryland to Upper and Lower Canada.
GREELEY, ADOLPHUS WASHINGTON, 1844-1935
Explorer Adolphus Washington Greeley was born in Newburyport, Massachusetts. He served with the Union forces during the Civil War, and afterwards was appointed to the Signal Service. In 1881 he commanded the 24-man International Polar Expedition to Lady Franklin Bay, the furthest point north then attained; he was one of the seven survivors rescued in 1884. Greeley continued to serve in the army until his retirement in 1908. For his services in organizing relief operations in San Francisco following the earthquake (1904) he was raised to the rank of major-general. He wrote a number of books on Arctic exploration.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1895, 2 cm (H92.Bd213)
Greeley's papers comprise 15 letters, and the original typescript, with handwritten corrections of Chapters 11-18 of Arctic Discoveries.
Alexander Henry, businessman, fur trader and author entered service of the North West Co. in 1799. His activities were centered in what is now the Canadian and the American North-West in the areas of the Pembina, Vermilion, North Saskatchewan and Columbia Rivers. He was drowned near Fort George on the Columbia in 1814.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1806-1840, 1 cm (CH186.S167)
This records travels in the Red River Colony in 1806. On the
final leaf it is noted that the text was revised 7 May 1840.
Johnstone served in the 3rd Ceylon Regiment.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, ca 1831, 1 cm (H89.Bd185)
The first part of this volume is titled "Narrative of a campaign in the Island of Ceylon in the year 1803 and of the Massacre of the greater part of the European Army by the Kandians. By the only Survivors." One part is entitled "Journal of an Expedition to Kandy in September 1804 and Retreat from there." The text is written on paper water-marked, 1831.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1817, 114 pp (H61.Bd20)
This manuscript recounts the captivity of John Knubley, Master of the Mountezumar and Alexander Scott among the Moroccans after a ship wreck in 1810.
John Macdonell was born in Scotland in 1768 and came to America with his father, John Macdonell of Scotus, in 1773. He came to Canada around 1776 and between 1788 and 1793 he became a clerk in the service of the North West Co. His journal for the years 1793-1797 was printed in L.R. Masson, Les Bourgeois de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest, vol. 1 (1889). In 1796 he was made a partner of the North West Co.; in 1799 he was in charge of the Upper Red River department. In 1809, Macdonell was later placed in charge of the Athabaska River department in 1809. In 1812 he retired as a partner of the North West Co. and settled at Pointe Fortune, on the Ottawa River where he ran a store and boat service.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1793-ca 1797, 1 cm (CH179.S161, CH183.S164)
Macdonell's papers comprise a journal for 1793-1795, which L.R. Masson entitled "Assinoboines-Rivière Qu'appelle", and an account of the Red River, ca 1797.
MacKENZIE, ALEXANDER, 1764-1820
Alexander Mackenzie was born near Stornoway, on the Island of Lewis, and emigrated with his family to New York in 1774. He was sent to school in Montréal, and in 1779 became a clerk in the firm of Finlay, Gregory and Co., afterwards Gregory, McLeod and Co. He was sent to Detroit in 1784 and to the West in 1785. When the firm was absorbed in the North West Co. in 1787, Mackenzie joined the North West as a partner. Mackenzie made an expedition to the Arctic Ocean from Fort Chipewyan in 1789 along the river which now bears his name, and in 1793 he journeyed to the Pacific Ocean. In 1790 he severed his connection with the North West Co. and returned to England, where he published his Voyages in 1801 and was knighted in 1802. He returned to Canada in 1802 to become a leading partner in the XY Company. In 1805 Mackenzie was elected to the Legislative Assembly of Lower Canada from Huntingdon County. He later returned to Scotland, where he died.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1805-1806, 15 pp (CH180.S162)
Mackenzie's journal kept on Great Bear Lake.
Charles Mackenzie was born in Scotland in 1774. In 1803 he entered the service of the North West Co. In 1804, he was a clerk on the Assiniboine. Mackenzie made four trading expeditions to the Missouri Indians in the years 1804 to 1806. His account of the Missouris was published by L.R. Masson in his Bourgeois de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest (1889). He spent most of the rest of his service in the region of Rainy Lake and Albany where he was transferred in 1807. He was a clerk for the Hudson's Bay Co. from 1821 until he retired in 1854. He died at the Red River Settlement in 1855.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1805-1809 and 1856, 4 cm (CH20.S56, Ch24.S60, Ch19.S55, CH26.S62)
Mackenzie's journals describe his expeditions to the Missouri in 1805 and 1806. Also included are an account of the Missouri Indians, 1809, and a probate of Mackenzie's will, 1856.
James Mackenzie was a younger brother of the Hon. Roderick McKenzie. He entered the service of the North West Company as a clerk in 1794. He was in the Athabaska department from 1795 to 1806. In 1802 he became a partner in the North West Company and was appointed to the King's Posts in the Lower St. Lawrence. Both his Athabaska journal of 1799-1800 and his account of the King's Posts in 1808 were published by Masson in his Bourgeois de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest, Vol. II (1890). Although he retired from service at the King's Posts prior to 1821, he still maintained some connection there until his death in 1849.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1799-1800, 1808, 1.5 cm (Ch173.S155, Ch177.S159)
This collection consists of Mackenzie's Athabaska journal, 1799-1800, as well as some accounts of the King's Posts, the Labrador Coast and the Island of Anticosti "by an Indian Trader", 1808.
MALHIOT, FRANCOIS VICTOIRE, 1776-1840
François Victoire Malhiot est né en 1776 et entra au service de la Cie du nord-ouest en tant que commis autour de 1791. Malhiot fit partie du département de la Rivière Rouge de 1796 à 1804. De 1804 à 1807 il fut chargé d'un poste au Lac aux Flambeaux. Il se retira de la traite des fourrures en 1807 pour s'établir à Contrecoeur, Bas-Canada. Son journal pour 1804-1805 fut publié dans le Wisconsin Historical Collections, XIX, 1910.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1804, .5 cm (CH178.S160)
"Journal du Fort Kamanaitiquoya à la Rivière de Montréal... Juillet 1804" de Mailhot.
MAYBURY, FRANCIS, fl 1856-1875
Francis Maybury came from Avonmore, Ireland.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Copy, n.d., 2.5 cm (M79.Bd67)
This is a typescript copy of Maybury's diary, covering the period 1856 to 1875, and treating of life in colonial Australia, including a journey to the gold fields.
McKENZIE, RODERICK, ca 1761-1844
Roderick McKenzie, a cousin of Sir Alexander McKenzie, came to Canada from Scotland in 1784 and entered the service of the Montréal fur-trading firm of Gregory, McTavish and Co. He accompanied his cousin to the West in 1786, built the original Fort Chipewyan in 1788, and was in charge of the post during Alexander McKenzie's expeditions to the Arctic in 1789 and to the Pacific in 1792. In 1800 McKenzie became a partner in the North West Company. A year or two later he retired from active fur trading, but he continued to be a dormant partner in the firm of McTavish, Frobisher and Co. (later McTavish, McGillivrays and Co.) until its failure in 1825. In his later years he gathered material for a history of the North West Co., which he never completed. He served on the Legislative Council of Lower Canada from 1817 to 1838.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1784-1837, 11 cm (CH21.S57, CH23.S59, CH27.S63, CH175.S175, CH171.S153)
Approximately half this material consists of letters, covering the years 1823-1837, from Andrew William Cochran, 1792-1849, civil secretary to the governors of Lower Canada from 1812 onwards, and a member of the Executive Council from 1827 to 1841. The remainder comprises a number of accounts of travels and exploration by North West Company employees, probably collected by McKenzie for his history. Included are Charles McKenzie's expeditions amongst the Missisouri Indians; Edward Umfreville's journal of a canoe trip from Lake Superior to Portage de l'Isle 1784; accounts of the Athabaska Indians, 1795 and 1805, George Keith's memoirs of the McKenzie River Department, 1807-1817; and George Henry Monk's of the Department of Fond du Lac or Mississippi, 1807; John McDonnell's account of the Red River, ca 1787; and John Johnston's of Lake Superior and a letter on the North West Indians from Eneas McDonnell. Also included are letters written to McKenzie from Forks on the Mackenzie River by William Ferdinand Wentzel, 1807-1824.
McLaughlin was a fur trader from Oregon.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, ca 1821, 16 pp (CH170.S152)
McLaughlin gives an account of the Indians in the area from Fort William to Lake of the Woods.
McLEOD, ARCHIBALD NORMAN, fl 1796-1837
McLeod was a magistrate and a trader and partner in the North West Company.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1800-1801, 1 cm (CH184.S165)
McLeod's journal at Fort Alexander.
Born in Scotland, Robert McVicar was an employee of the Hudson's Bay Company in the Saskatchewan and Athabaska country, 1812-1827. Beginning as a clerk, McVicar was promoted to the position of chief trader in 1821. In 1827, he was transferred to the Montréal Department of the company and given charge of the St. Maurice District. In 1830, McVicar retired from the Company to go into private business. During the 1830s he was a farmer in the Lac des Deux-Montagnes area near Montréal and as the captain of the St. Andrew's Rifle Co. he helped quell the 1837 Rebellion. In 1844, he was named as an inspector of Clergy Reserves in the Western District of Canada West. Keenly interested in promoting settlement, McVicar wrote a series of letters on this subject which in 1853 were published as Letters on emigration from the British Isles, and the settlement of the waste lands in the Province of Canada. Later, McVicar's attempt to establish himself as a land agent in the Fort William of Ontario area ended in failure.
McCORD MUSEUM
Originals, Photocopies, 1815-1830, 7.5 cm (M22074)
The Robert McVicar papers concern his activities as a chief fur trader, a militia officer and a prospective land agent. They consist of correspondence with John Richardson, 1824-1825, John Franklin, 1824-1825 and James Keith concerning Franklin's Arctic expedition of 1825-1827, and from Major John Mayne concerning supplies and the disbanding of his regiment, 1838-1839 and with Colonel Alexander Frazer dealing with land settlement in the Owen Sound area of Upper Canada, 1842.
MEYWOOD OR MAYWOOD, P., fl 1796-1810
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1796-1810, 3 cm (M144, M57.Bd60)
Ocean voyages and observations on the South Atlantic and southern Africa are the subject of Meywood's papers. These comprise memoranda on nautical subjects, with directions for navigating the Straits of Banquey and other oriental passages (1801), notes on the Cape of Good Hope, 1796, and St. Helena, 1805, and "Nautical Remarks and Memoranda of Occurrences on Board H.M.S. Polyphemus, Donegal and Nereus Between 22 Oct. 1806 and 19 Nov. 1810".
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1778-1779, 18 pp (CH30.S66)
Journal...pour le Voyage...aux Iles Antillaises.
MURRAY, MARY RIGBY, MRS, ca 1843-1844
Mary Rigby Murray was perhaps the wife of the Scottish judge John Archibald, Lord Murray.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1843-1844, 114 pp (M131.Bd125)
This journal records a visit to France.
RICHARDSON, SIR JOHN, 1787-1865
A native of Scotland, John Richardson was a surgeon in the British navy from 1807 to 1815. In 1816, he received his M.D. degree from Edinburgh University. Between 1819 and 1827 he was a member of two arctic expeditions led by John Franklin. He was knighted in 1846. In 1848, he led an expedition with Dr. John Rae, as his second in command to search for Franklin's lost ships but left his post in 1849 to return to England. Richardson was the author of numerous scientific papers and his book An Arctic Searching Expedition was published in 1851.
McCORD MUSEUM
Originals, 1826, 1847-1851, 16 cm (Unaccessioned)
The John Richardson papers concern the John Franklin search expedition of 1848, and consist of correspondence with admiralty officials, Hudson's Bay Company officials and employees, 1847-1851, and bills from the Hudson's Bay Company for supplies, transportation and wages paid the English and Canadian crews, 1847-1851. Also included is a holograph journal kept by Dr. John Rae, 1848.
Born in Scotland, John Ross served in the British navy during the Napoleonic Wars. In 1812 he was made a commander and in 1818 promoted to the rank of vice-admiral. In 1818 and 1829 he led expeditions to try and discover the north-west passage through the arctic regions of Canada. Knighted in 1833, he served as British consul in Stockholm from 1839-1846. He wrote books about his explorations and on steam navigation. Between 1850 and 1851 he made an unsuccessful attempt to find the lost Sir John Franklin expedition.
McCORD MUSEUM
Transcripts, 1815-1854, 7.5 cm (M22079)
The collection consists of private correspondence mainly concerning family matters with a few of Ross's letters dealing with naval and diplomatic affairs, and arctic exploration, and his treatises on steam navigation and other writings, 1815-1854. The principal correspondents include Admirals Moore, Martin and Greig, Captains Griffiths, Dalrymple and Hugh Cook, Lord Granville, Lord de Grey, William Leake, and Sir George Cockburn. Also included are English translations of Eskimo statements concerning Sir John Franklin's ships and other ships sighted in the Arctic, 1850.
SEYMOUR, EDWARD HOBART, SIR, 1840-1929
Seymour was admiral in the Royal Navy.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1861-1879, 3 cm (H167.Bd288, H154.B289)
Notebook kept by Seymour when he served as mate on the H.M.S. Imperieuse during service on a China station. The notes give details about crew, sales, accommodations and watches, 1861-1862. Also included is a journal which Seymour kept on the Orontes during cruises in the Mediterranean and to Bermuda, Halifax and the West Indies, 1878-1879.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Typescript, 1924, 2 cm (M82.Bd71)
"An archaeological expedition to the ruins of Southern Tunisia and the Sahara", 1924. This typescript includes articles by Louise de Forest Shelton, Arnold M. Duff, and Byron de Prorok.
THOMPSON, REGINALD EDWARD, ca 1861
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, ca 1861, 2 cm (New MSS)
A diary kept by Reginald Edward Thompson describes his journey to the Rockies with Viscount Milton.
Thomson was a fur trader.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1800, 14 pp (CH174.S156)
Journal for the year 1800 kept by Thomson on the Mackenzie River (Rocky Mountain).
WENTZEL, WILLIAM FERDINAND, ?-1832
William (or Willard) Ferdinand Wentzel was probably the son of Adam Wentzel, a Norwegian merchant in Montréal. In 1799 he entered the service of the North West Company and was for many years a clerk in the Athabaska country. He continued to work for the Hudson's Bay Company after its absorption of the North West Company. He retired in 1825, but returned to work as the Hudson's Bay Company's clerk at Mingan on the Lower St. Lawrence. He retired a second time in 1829.
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Originals, 1802, 1807-1808, 2 cm (CH25.S61, CH176.S158)
Wentzel's diaries kept at Slave Lake in the summer of 1802, and at Forks on the Mackenzie River, 1807-1808.
WHINGATES, ISABELLA JANE, fl 1836-1837
RARE BOOK DEPARTMENT
Original, 1836-1837, 3 cm (H100.Bd262)
This is "The journal of an English lady; or letters descriptive of the continent during the years 1829 and 1830" to which have been added water-colour illustrations by the author.