Installation of McGill Principals Virtual Exhibit
Go to Site Map
Exhibit Home The Installation Ceremony Past Installations The Gallery: Papers of Governance For Researchers Credits
You are here > Home > Past Installations : Principal Frank Cyril James, 1939-1962
Principal George Jehoshaphat Mountain

Principals Appointed by Resolution

Principal Arthur Eustace Morgan

Principal Lewis Williams Douglas

Principal Frank Cyril James

Principal Harold Rocke Robertson

Principal Robert Edward Bell

Principal David Lloyd Johnston

Principal Bernard Shapiro

Principal Frank Cyril James,

Concern for events surrounding the Second World War, the high cost associated with public events, and the potential for negative public reaction to the Installation of the third Principal within five years, prompted a return in 1939 to a private ceremony. Principal James did however make an address to staff and students at the Spring convocation following his Installation. F. Cyril James was installed on January 12, 1940, in Moyse Hall, following the order of proceedings used in previous programs. The only significant difference in this ceremony is the singing of "O Canada" instead of "God Save the King."

Click image to enlarge.

Principal James, 1939-1962. MUA PR001338. Principal James, 1940. MUA PR000440.
Principal James Installation Program, 1940. MUA RG 7, c. 103 no. 397.
Previous, Principal Douglas Top Next, Principal Robertson

HOME |  The Installation Ceremony |  Past Installations |  The Gallery: Papers of Governance | 
For Researchers |  Credits |  Site Map
Back to Top Contact the Web Manager
This Virtual Exhibit is maintained by the McGill University Archives | McGill University , © 2003